Skip to content

Art Journaling for Beginners

January 8, 2010

So, I’ve decided the purpose of this blog is to show people who have no artistic experience how to keep an art journal.  I’m starting from the very basic stuff and working my way up.  And, guess what.  I’m pretty new to art journaling as well, so I’ll be doing it right along with you.  Please note that I am trying to make these posts sound lighthearted and fun, but if you think I’m being condescending please let me know.

You may be a little apprehensive to start making art if you’ve never picked up a paintbrush.  You may have seen a lot of pretty pages and want to get started, but don’t think your art will be good enough.  Well, I’m going to start by telling you a few thing about art journaling that will help ease your mind.

1.  It’s a journal. They are private, and you don’t have to show anyone unless you want to.

a scrap paper grid from my first art journal

2.  It’s all about the process. You are going to make lots and lots of ugly stuff, but don’t worry.  Just do what you want.  Experiment.  As long as you enjoy making it, and it makes you feel better, you don’t need to worry too much about the end result.

3.  You will make lots and lots of awesome stuff, too. Stuff you didn’t even know you had in you will come flowing out once you get started!

ballons from my art journal

4.  You might think you don’t have time for art. But you do.  And I’m going to show you a few tips on how to make time for your art in later posts.

5.  If you don’t like it, you can cover it up. That ugly art you might make can easily be made into something awesome, okay?  And since I’m going to show you how to make art with super cheap supplies you could actually toss the whole project.  But I promise you in a bit of time, you won’t ever want to.

I hope that this has encouraged you and you’re ready to start making art.  Well, on my next post I’m going to start my lovely $5 A Week Art Journaling Series by showing you how to make a super cheap one week art journal.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandy permalink
    January 10, 2010 8:28 pm

    I’m excited to get started! 🙂

  2. January 18, 2010 7:13 pm

    Love to see people spreading art journaling joy! I found your pages on flickr and followed you here. Great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

