Skip to content

I almost forgot!

January 18, 2010

I did promise you some art journal pages, didn’t I?

cover art

The one on the left is the journal I finished last week and the one on the right is this week’s journal.

side a

Stick your hand in the scanner and hit “copy”, especially if you injured your hand at work and have lovely Hello Kitty band-aids to show off.  Last week I was in St. Louis with my friends to see Eddie Izzard!  I journaled about that and stuck a photo of him in there.  I also jotted down a recipe I made up last week and a photo of myself.  The colorful strip is a copy of the freebie I posted last week.  Some birdie stamps and a Juliana Hatfield lyric.

side b

I played around with my printer last week, making lots of copies.  I love the way things look when it’s low on ink.  I made some copies of vintage photos, my own artwork, and even some buttons.  I wrote about mermaids, and what’s in my purse.  The background on the left is probably the best I’ve ever made.  I’ll show you how to make it once we get more supplies.  The right side had a clear pocket.  I cut up a copy of another art journal page and pasted it back together wrong and put it in the pocket.  I drew some waves and hid Tori Amos lyrics in them.

in the clouds

On to this week.  Oh I love flat bottomed clouds with pretty jewel raindrops.

use a tacky survey

Sometimes when I don’t know what to write I use those surveys from facebook.  This one is the one where you put your ipod on shuffle and write down the first 10 songs that play.  I used some printed tissue paper that came with my Chucks for the background and then I painted it orange with watercolors.  Oh, I hate orange, but I try to use colors I don’t like in my journals.  Otherwise, it will all look the same.

unfinished side

I had fun making the backgrounds for this journal.  Can’t wait to decorate them further.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 10:26 am

    Hallo and guten Tag,
    I found your blog in the world wide web.
    I like it. I like your colours and your joyful, free and freindly ideas.
    Greetings from Germany, Sigrid

    • January 20, 2010 8:51 pm

      Wow, thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s so neat to have visitors from all over the world.

  2. Brandy permalink
    January 20, 2010 3:39 pm

    Man, all this looks so creative. I dont see how you come up with all of the ideas.

    • January 20, 2010 8:49 pm

      heh, every winter I have to find something creative to do or I lose my mind. A few years ago I even learned how to knit. Have you tried anything on here yet?

Leave a Reply

