Skip to content

Just Words

January 27, 2010

I like learning new things from books, especially if they have no pictures.  Then I can just use my imagination and interpret things my own way.  So, I’m going to post some painting prompts without the pictures for you guys to try.  I did all of these last night, and I’ll post the pictures later.

  • Lay down some gesso.  Let it dry, then spread some color on the page with your hands.  Dip your hands in water and splash the page a little.  Let your page sit for a minute, then use a dishrag or paper towel to wipe off the water.
  • Try color scraping. Squirt drops of two or three color onto your page, then spread them around with an old credit card.
  • Tear a page out of an old book and glue it onto your page.  Gesso and paint over it.  Try wiping some of the paint off here and there so your text shows through a little.
  • Lay down some gesso and before it dries, paint over it with a dark color.  Then wipe in a circular motion with a dishrag or paper towel.

Try making up your own background techniques as well.  I’ll be back soon with pictures of the results!

P.S.  Is anybody out there?  I mean, I’ve had visitors and comments, but if you’ve tried any of my ideas, I’d love to hear from you.

    7 Comments leave one →
    1. January 27, 2010 1:30 pm

      i really like you blog.The two series you have going at the mo are fab(cheap art supplies)!!!But dont feel down if you dont get many comments at thebeginning i have been blogging for almost a year now and i hardly get any comments.But keep going you have a fantastic blog:

      • January 29, 2010 3:12 pm

        Yeah I know it’s going to be slow for a while. I was just curiuos if anyone was doing this. No one yet , but maybe someday.

    2. January 27, 2010 8:11 pm

      I’m here! I’m new to art journalling, so haven’t tried anything yet, I’m just reading and getting inspiration at the moment 🙂

      • January 29, 2010 3:14 pm

        The biggest step is actually starting to art journal. After that, you’ll never be able to stop!

    3. Brandy permalink
      January 30, 2010 7:09 pm

      I’m here.. but between working and baby, I havent had time to get to the store and get what i need. i will eventually. i have been saving all the blogs in my email.

      • January 30, 2010 7:26 pm

        Awesome. I’m glad you’re still reading my blog.

    Trackbacks

    1. Just Words 2 « The Paper Phantom

    Leave a Reply

