Skip to content

January 30, 2010

Today I actually have another day off with my husband.  Too bad we’re snowed in.  We got seven inches of snow here!  That’s the most snow I’ve seen in a long time.  Not much to do around here except make art and blog about it.  Here are the pictures that I promised in my “Just Words” post:

splash

I decided to use pretty macro shots so you can really see the detail.  This is the technique where you splash your page after you put down a layer of gesso and a layer of paint.  The big spots are where I splashed the page, and the tiny specks were made by spraying the page with a misting bottle filled with water.  I got this idea from Natalie at awkwardnbeautiful.blogspot.com  You need to go check out her awesome blog and art work.

scrape

On this one, I dropped on some paint and scraped it around with an old credit card.  I know lots of art journalist do this, but I think I originally saw it on ihanna’s blog.  You can get to her blog by clicking the link on the side of this page (I’m way out of practice on HTML and none of the links I made on this post work, hmm).

text

I have an old hardback book lying around that I got for just 10 cents at the thrift store.  I cut or tear pages out all the time and glue them onto my journal pages.  I like to paint over them, then wipe away some of the paint so you can still read parts of the text.

swirls

Lastly, the swirls.  I do this often, too.  Gesso followed immediately by paint, then swirled around with my handy dandy dish cloth.  These always remind me of Van Gogh.

So, if you’re snowed in like I am, or even if you’re not, today is a good day to start on your art journal.  Any day is a good day to start making art!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 7:22 pm

    This is truly beautiful. I found your blog today and will definitely be back. Very inspiring.

    • February 1, 2010 4:00 am

      Thank you. I like your blog too. I have been looking for good collage kits. I will have to pick one up on Thursday (payday!) if you have any left. And i love that it’s for a good cause.

  2. February 1, 2010 11:20 am

    lovely techniques there!I will definatly use some in future art journal pages!!¨Thank you so much for adding my blog to your blog roll!!!I added yours to mine to:)

    • February 1, 2010 4:02 pm

      No problem! You’ve sent a few visitors my way so I thought I’d try to return the favor.

  3. February 4, 2010 3:59 pm

    ooohhh. lovely. I love close up shots of people’s work. It’s fun to see the details.

    • February 4, 2010 4:20 pm

      Thanks Dani. I love your blog. I’ve been reading it forever. I don’t know why I’ve never commented on it.

Leave a Reply

