Skip to content

Happy V-Day!

February 15, 2010

Woohoo!  Today has been the busiest day ever for my little blog.  Welcome new visitors; feel free to comment!  I’m just popping in to wish everyone a happy Valentine’s Day.  My husband will be home in about an hour, and then we’re going out for a late dinner and movie.  I also wanted to show you the V-Day spread I made in my art journal.  I challenge you to make one and dedicate it to the one you love (spouse, cats, favorite food, whatever):

the one i love

It’s a little scrapbook-y.  I think I started art journaling because I am (in my opinion) a bad scrapbooker.  And I like to get messy messy.

I also managed to get 10 postcards made today for a swap hosted by iHanna.  They were supposed to be sent off by today–oops, but I kept waiting for my address list to show up.  I finally remembered to check my spam, and there they were.  I’ll address and send them soon.  Here is a sneak peek:

postcards!

I decided to put quotes from my favorite author, Francesa Lia Block, on each one.  I wanted them to have a funky, cut and paste look, so I typed them on a typewriter.  I made backgrounds for each card using gesso and pastel color paint.  I added book pages and swirled the paint for texture.  Then I cut out the quotes and some images I liked and pasted them all together.  Now I get to mail them off to strangers.  Do you think they will like them?  It’s funny.  Since I make my art journal just for myself, I don’t let my inner critic get to me.  But once I start making art for other people, I do worry a little bit.  Anyway, once the cards are completely dry I’ll scan each one.  I’ll post the scans on my flickr in a couple weeks.

Again, happy Valentine’s Day everyone.  I will be back soon to tell you about the workshop I’m taking and to review the journal I ordered from JournalGirl!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 10:05 am

    Yippee! What fabulous-looking postcards! 😀
    xox

  2. February 23, 2010 3:40 pm

    You shouldn’t question yourself. The postcards look lovely and I’m sure all of the recipients were delighted to receive them!

    • February 24, 2010 6:12 am

      Thank you. I do feel a lot more confident about them now. I am starting to miss them now that they’re gone hehe.

  3. February 26, 2010 6:55 pm

    I do understand where you are coming from about sending your art out there and getting critical about it. I thought mine weren’t bad, but then I saw things that other people did and felt totally critical about my own work…. but the thing is that hopefully someone else out there understands that we have to begin somewhere and likes them too! I love yours! They are beautiful! Ignore your critic!

    • February 27, 2010 4:06 am

      Thanks. I’m sure your cards will be appreciated. I love just getting mail!

  4. March 4, 2010 3:49 am

    Thank you for the lovely postcard! I just received it this Monday past ^_^

Trackbacks

  1. Handmade Postcards and Swap Sharing | iHanna's Blog

Leave a Reply

