Skip to content

Trying New Things

February 16, 2010

It’s so important to get outside of your comfort zone.  That goes for art journaling as well as your life.  As I mentioned earlier, I’m taking an online workshop called Art Journal Love Letters.  It’s only been a few days, but I am loving the class.  First I soaked everything in by reading the posts and watching Connie’s videos.  And tonight I finally got around to trying one of the techniques.  The first video I watched was all about creating texture.  I used new supplies and I also stepped out of my comfort zone by letting vibrant colors live on the page without muting them with gesso.

texture love

I’ve never given too much thought to creating texture.  It was very different to create a page with that specifically in mind.  I actually like the texture on the page more than I thought I would.  I can’t stop running my fingers over the bumps and valleys in the page.  It makes me want to learn how to read braille.  I really did want to slap some gesso on the page out of habit, so I had another go and used gesso this time.

texture love my way

I love the dreamy, smeared look and with the harsh grid lines.  Bright colors and soft gesso.  It’s fun to take one idea and add your own spin.  Have you tried any of my ideas in your journal?

Oh, by the way, this is Connie, the genius behind Art Journal Love Letters:

Oh, she cracks me up.  There are tons more free vids on her youtube channel KitchenOfTheSoul.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 1:00 pm

    Braile! Great connection…

  2. February 17, 2010 12:08 pm

    cool i have never tried anything with textiures

  3. February 19, 2010 4:01 am

    Hey Spooky!!

    You are such a natural at texture! I love looking at them just on their own. I bet if I saw them in person–I would love them even more to feel them!!

    Great work!! I love having you as a part of the LOVE!!

    Big hugs,

    • February 20, 2010 6:37 am

      Before your class I only cared about visual texture, but I’m loving the tactile kind now!

Leave a Reply

