Skip to content

$5 Art Journaling Supplies Week 6–Sharpies!

February 19, 2010

Sharpies!

Say hello to this week’s $5 supplies–Sharpies!  Well, actually, most of what’s in this cup is Bic brand Mark-It’s.  You can get an 8 pack of these guys at Wal-Mart for only $3.  They are great for doodling and writing in your art journal.  I like to write in Sharpie, then go back and outline the letters with a fine point pen (sometimes I use a matching color and sometimes a contrasting one).

wish on everything

That’s a page from my first art journal.  The quote is written in sharpie, then I traced the letters with a glittery gel pen.  The letters stand out better against the background and it makes my messy handwriting a tiny bit easier to read.

sharpie ghosting

I also found this cool Sharpie technique called “ghosting” by it’s creator.  Here is the video:

Hmm I am feeling a little blah tonight so I’ll make this a short post.  But I’ll leave you with another of my art journal pages from the Love Letters class:

23 tears

Just a background so far.  It’s for my great Aunt Myrtle whose funeral I attended today.  She was feisty and awesome until the last minute.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 3:12 am

    Ahhhh I LOVE my Bic Mark-its! Aren’t they fantastic? I’ve played a lot with ghosting, too–the Mark-its do amazing things under watercolors. The colors shift in really funky ways.

    Great work! Are you enjoying Connie’s workshop? I’m loving it so far.

    • February 19, 2010 3:15 am

      I haven’t tried them with watercolors; that sounds fun! Yes, I love the workshop. Totally worth the money, I think.

  2. February 19, 2010 4:12 am

    I was wondering why your journal page was called 23 Tears. I’m sorry to hear about your Auntie, but to live ones life feisty to the end is quite a life lived fully. What a beautiful tribute your page is to her.

    Big hugs!!

    PS Thanks for the kind words–Spooky & Amanda–I think I’m having as much fun, if not, more even then you two!! Thanks for making this a blast!! I love the great art journal LOVE that is forming!!

  3. February 19, 2010 11:39 am

    Sorry about your aunt.I HAVE NEVER REALLY PLAYED AROUND WITH sharpies.I have never seen them in my local art shop but maybe I will give them ago some day.

  4. February 21, 2010 1:26 pm

    Great video to share! I learned something new! Glad you liked the postcard I sent!

Leave a Reply

