Skip to content

The Cycle

February 23, 2010

I got another lovely post card recently.

I love this one! Cutting up tiny scraps of patterned paper are on my to-do list tonight! That, and paying my bills. I had a dozen things to do in my two days off and I’m down to just a couple. I even forced myself to study! I am taking a photography course. My photography really gets neglected in the winter time. It’s just too darn cold to go snap photos. At least all my art journal supply photos are giving me a bit of practice.

Here are some of the pages I’ve been working on lately:

One of the projects in the Art Journal Love Letters class called for tissue paper.  I couldn’t find any of the pretty colors everyone else was using around the house, but I found some white printed tissue paper in a shoe box and made it work.  I drew squares of color with my Portfolio pastels, then layered some tissue, drew more squares, then added more tissue.  Lastly, I put a wash of blue watercolor on top.

I did not plan a theme for my journal, or intentionally make one, but yesterday I realized it has one!  Most of my images either have to do with Spring or death or both.  For example, those flowers are going on the kitty cemetary in my parents backyard.  You might look at the picture and think “ooh pretty flowers” but I think about Tabby and Fallon and my beloved Haiku.

We also learned how to make pockets, so I made one for the program-flyer-thing I got at my aunt’s funeral.  See, more death.

But also, more happy happy spring.  Well, sort of happy.  Why did I choose a black background?  Maybe I am just reading too much into this.  But I like the idea.  Winter, death, and then cycling into Springtime!  I should make a page for Persephone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 2:18 am

    Isn’t it funny how our subconscious mind works? Love the postcard, too!

    • February 24, 2010 6:07 am

      Yes. I’m glad my journal does my thinking for me, lol.

  2. February 23, 2010 5:33 pm

    Poor you with all those deaths.Three of my guinea pigs have died over the years to and I now how it feels!!You are not alone.:)
    I love your journal pages especially the one with the tissue paper and the crayoned squares!It looks so pretty!!

    • February 24, 2010 6:06 am

      I used to have guinea pigs! I had one named Mick and one named Midnight.

Leave a Reply

