Skip to content

Almost Free Art Supplies–Tissue Paper

February 25, 2010

I’ve been playing around with tissue paper this week for Connie’s class.  Tissue paper can easily be found around the house or purchased for around a dollar, so that makes it an Almost Free Art Supply! I’m not going to show you the exact technique I learned in her class, but just some things I’ve learned on my own.

If you crinkle tissue paper up and glue it onto your page it makes a neat texture.  I bet you have a bag of wrinkly, crinkly tissue paper left over from Christmas or birthdays.  I’ve already shown you the page made of recycled tissue paper that came in a shoe box, but I haven’t shown you what I did with it next:

excess

I love it!  I turned my tissue paper page into pockets to hold trinkets for my Marie!  Later I found some French language flash cards and stuck them in the pockets, too.

Last night I tried a fresh, flat sheet of patterned tissue paper.  It added a nice, translucent element to my page.  This is just a background.  If, and when I figure out how to finish it, I’ll post it again.

Some quick tips about tissue paper:

Colored tissue paper might bleed. Keep that in mind before applying it to your page.  Some artists love that it bleeds and others hate it.  If you don’t like your colors to bleed, stick to white tissue paper, and then paint over it.

Apply glue to the surface, not the tissue. Use mod podge, or watered-down school glue, and put a thin layer on the surface you want to add the tissue paper to and then lay the tissue paper down.  If you try adding glue to the tissue paper, it will rip and crinkle.  It won’t be pretty!

I have seen some artist do really amazing things with the tissue paper used for clothing patterns.  That is definitely on my to-do list.  Try thrift stores if you don’t want to use a brand new pattern.

I usually post a video tutorial with my art supply posts, but I couldn’t find a good one for tissue paper.  Hmm, maybe I should try to make one.  I happen to come from a long line of ridiculously shy people, and unfortunately, that gene was passed on to me.  I need to be brave and listen to my favorite shy person, Morrissey.

“Shyness is nice, but shyness can stop you from doing all the things in life you’d like to.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 1:46 pm

    I spent yesterday evening painting on tissue papers.
    -so much fun!!
    Thanks for sharing your ideas 🙂

    Åshild

Leave a Reply

