Skip to content

Creative Sparks

March 2, 2010

Here are some creative things I’ve been up to lately:

Planting an herb garden is a springtime must for me!  I usually do it in the window sill, but now that I own my own house I get to plant these guys in the yard.  Right now I’m getting them started indoors.  My husband came home and saw the little brown peat pellets I planted them in and thought they were treats for his birthday next week.  I, of course, informed him otherwise, but I was pretty tempted to let him try one, hehe!

Remember how I said I loved the way prints turned out when my printer was low on ink?  Well, I won a digital collage kit from Traci Bautista about a month ago. My printer was really low on color, but I printed them anyway. I’ve been having a lot of fun coloring in the outlines and making my own art based on hers!

Got another postcard today!  Sorry, I haven’t been posting the creators of the cards.  When all of them arrive, I intend to make a post with links and everything, but right now I’ve just been hanging them up and snapping a photo.  This one has a pretty paper doily on top!

Making those postcards was so much fun I decided I want to try another form of mail art.  Remember when we made the mini manila art journals and I told you to save the big scrap pieces?  I’ve been cutting mine down to 2.5″ by 3.5″ so I can make Artist Trading Cards!  I have never done it before.  Basically, you just make tiny pieces of art the size of trading cards and swap them with other artists.  I don’t have anybody in mind to swap with, so if anyone is interested please let me know.  You must be willing to trade, though!  If I send you cards and you don’t send any back I swear I’ll make a Wall of Shame post all about you.  I hate to be mean like that, but I have tried swaps in the past at places like Nervousness and never received anything back more than once. But Hanna’s postcard swap has been good to me and (mostly) restored my faith in mail art!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 12:37 pm

    I’d love to swap ATCs. I was in Hanna’s swap, too 🙂

  2. March 2, 2010 2:55 pm

    Sure! Email me your address to punkerific33 at yahoo.com. Do you think we should have a theme or just random?

  3. tara permalink
    March 5, 2010 2:25 am

    I am willing to swap as well. You actually received one of my postcards from the ihanna swap. It was wonderful to open your blog and say I made that. I didn’t get one of your though. Actually I only got four back. But I digress. I would love to do atc swap. I haven’t tried atc cards but I am excited to try and again share work.

    • March 5, 2010 4:07 am

      Oh, you made the pretty Paris postcard! I love the little paperclip on it. I have only gotten 5 cards, but I figure there will be a few more that drift in. Do you still have my address? You can email me yours to punkerific33 at yahoo.com. I haven’t traded ATCs before either. Do you want to do a theme or random? And how many should we swap?

  4. March 11, 2010 9:46 am

    May I join the swap too?
    I live in Norway, and I was part of iHanna’s swap too.
    When are you/we supposed to be sending the ATC’s?
    And how many cm is 1 inch?

    Ps
    I absolutely LOVE the postcard you sent me!! 😀 “Dreams have wings” -yes, they do!!

    Åshild

    • March 11, 2010 2:51 pm

      Sure! The size in cm would be 6 by 9. I haven’t set any rules for the swap. Maybe we can each make 5 cards and swap them?

  5. March 13, 2010 2:58 pm

    5 sounds great!
    Should I e-mail you my address?

    Åshild

    • March 14, 2010 2:19 am

      Sure. Send it to punkerific33 at yahoo.com. Do you want to have a theme or just random?

Leave a Reply

