Skip to content

Another Lazy Night

March 4, 2010

I have been a little distant with my art journal this week.  Not sure why.  I guess I just like to change things up a bit and seek different inspirations.  But here are a few of my latest pages:

about

This one’s unfinished.  Just need to fill in the top corner.  It’s inspired by that lovely scrappy postcard I got last week.  The photo is of my collection of funky plastic bubble rings.  I wear one everyday!  They are so cheap and colorful and make me happy!

the dance

This one is  a bit of  de-stressing collage insanity.  Cut, paste, relax.  If you are stressed, try collage.  I swear it’s as good as yoga!

harvey

Using up one of the textured backgrounds from Art Journal Love Letters.  I really love children’s books that are adventurous and have a dark side.  This is an illustration from Clive Barker’s The Thief of Always.  I found the book a few years ago at the thrift store.  The first time I read it was on the train to Chicago, so it always makes me think of my own happy, scary adventures.

Where does your art journal take you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 5:33 am

    Oh Spooky, I love these. I love all your art work. You have such a beautiful way of coming to the page. I’m learning so much from you. Big hugs!

    • March 5, 2010 4:00 am

      Thanks for the encouragement. I shall keep on truckin’! I love hearing that The Art Teacher is learning from me! I wish I could be a kid again go to school with you as my art teacher. The one I had in high school was so drab!

  2. March 4, 2010 6:28 pm

    I too love your sense of color, design … your pieces capture such fragile moods … delicate and strong at the same time … very inspiring!

    I am finding myself as a bit of a dr.jekyll mr. hyde in my journals of late … guess it is all the inspiration swirling around me, i tend to want to try different styles in hopes of stumbling unto my own.

    thanks for the juicy inspiration!

    • March 5, 2010 4:03 am

      That’s so funny. Connie says my art work is delicate, too. I never tried to put my own descriptive words to it, so it’s neat to hear how others describe it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

