Skip to content

Ten Postcards

March 7, 2010

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve sent my postcards out and hopefully everyone has received them, so I’m finally going to post them here.

sacrifice

belong

upon

hurt

tears*

magic

wish

happily

dancing*

To make them, I started by printing the postcard backs Hanna made on plain cardstock.  I glued down random scraps of book pages to the card stock, then I gave each piece of cardstock a layer of gesso (on the purple cards I used black gesso and the blue cards had grey gesso).  After that I added a layer of paint and swirled it around with a dishrag.  While they dried, I typed the Francesca Lia Block quotes on my typewriter.  I then cut the cards out and pasted the quotes and images to them.  Lastly, I gave each card a coat of Mod Podge to protect them on their journey.  For the images I used scrapbooking paper, Anthropologie catalogs, magazine clippings, painted papers, photocopies of my previous work, junk mail, stickers, and even a gum wrapper.

*Tears and Dancing are personal favorites!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 8:12 am

    Such beautiful cards and great quotes, thanks for sharing all of these. I like all of them! 🙂

  2. March 9, 2010 4:48 pm

    Yes tey are so pretty. LUcky you , youve got a typewriter, I wish i had one the font is just so cool.xo makealife

    • March 9, 2010 5:54 pm

      Try thrift stores! I have gotten two different manual ones for less than $10 and my husband found an electric one at a yard sale for $1. They are pretty easy to find around here! The hard part is finding the ribbon.

  3. March 14, 2010 6:01 am

    these are absolutely beautiful, every single one! love the texture and the collage bits and layers and the quotes. and yes, i’m completely jealous about the typewriter, too! i saw two in a thrift store once and didn’t buy either of them – and am still kicking myself for it!

  4. March 14, 2010 10:43 pm

    Thank you! Keep looking, you’ll find a nice typewriter somewhere!

Leave a Reply

