Skip to content

Grungy Layers

March 8, 2010
tags:

I invented a new background technique!  Wanna see?

Lots of torn grungy text layers!  I really liked the way it looked in my journal, so I decided to try it on canvas.

I had a name picked out for this piece, but I promptly forgot it.  Any suggestions?  I am no good at giving things witty names (as you can tell by my blog post titles).  Anyway, I wanted to make it look like the girl was escaping from a gritty Victorian background.  Do you think the jewels make it look tacky?  I liked them, so I stuck them on there.  The eyes are an image transfer I did with a magazine ad, so I can’t sell this piece.  That means that she might be the piece I give away when I start my Etsy shop!

ps Two awesome blogs I found this weekend: cathartic creativity and the five plus you and me . Amazing!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 8:14 am

    Love the journal page colors and grungy look, how did you make this your new technique? 🙂

  2. March 9, 2010 3:27 pm

    Thanks! I plan on making another post to show how to do it step by step soon. Or maybe I’ll get brave and make a video. But I’ll let you know when the tutorial is up.

  3. March 21, 2010 10:57 pm

    AWW! How sweet are you?! I love the grungy texture 🙂

    • March 22, 2010 6:29 pm

      Your blog was too awesome not to share! Sorry to hear about your roommate troubles. I hope things get better for you.

Leave a Reply

