Skip to content

Day 2: Collecting and Transferring Images

March 15, 2010

I have another happy-happy Connie video for you on collecting images for your art journal.

Don’t forget to use your own images as well. Drawings and photographs add a great personal touch to your journal pages.

I know I’ve mentioned using image transfers before, but I have never elaborated on how to do them. Here are a couple of ideas:

The first one comes from The One Minute Muse. There are lots of great quickie technique videos on this site. This vid shows you how to do an image transfer with packaging tape.

After you have finished your transfer, you can glue it down to your art journal page. I have not tried this technique yet, but I think I will today.

Lastly, we have acrylic medium transfers. I have tried this a few times. I like the way it looks, but it gets pretty messy! Oh, and this one comes to us from Mother Henna.

You can use pretty much any kind of glue or even gesso for an image transfer, but acrylic gel medium seems to work the best.

I hope these vids sparked your creativity. I’m going in search of good painting technique videos for tomorrow! See you then!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 11:01 pm

    thanks so much for this! i’ve been wanting to try an image transfer for a while – these videos were very helpful!

    • March 17, 2010 12:22 am

      Let me know how it goes if you try the tape method. I haven’t tried it yet.

Leave a Reply

