Skip to content

And Now For Something Completely Different

March 17, 2010

So, it’s finally happened to me.  I have Blank Page Syndrome.  Have you heard of it?  It’s when artists or writers or whoever are so intimidated by a big, white, blank page that they can’t do anything.  Actually, I have something much worse.  I have Sacred Journal Syndrome

the culprit

And that is when you think your new journal is too awesome and beautiful and perfect to be touched by your sloppy paintbrush.  A lot of people get this with moleskines.  I have no problem going to town on a nice, new moleskine.  Those things are mass-produced.  I can buy another one.  But this journal is one of a kind and totally different than my other journals.

I tried getting to the root of the problem.  Was it the cover?  I undressed my journal from its pretty canvas clothes and added some patterned paper to the front in the back.  It made it look plainer on the outside, but I still wasn’t ready to journal in it. So, I put the jacket back on.  Now what?

If it wasn’t the cover, then the pages themselves might be the problem.  Yes, it’s that darn mixed paper.  It’s what I requested.  I thought I wanted all kinds of random papers in my journal, but now I’m afraid they are too flimsy to create on.  I did a couple of tests with gel medium and gesso to try to strengthen the pages, but it didn’t seem to help much.  But I’ve had this idea kicking around in my skull lately.  And I think it’s going to work really well with this journal.  So here is journal #3.

It’s going to be very different from my first two journals, but I hope you’ll stick around to see how it’s going to turn out.

And this is the new idea I had:

3 things

An effort to write more.  Every day I go to work and come home and repeat.  The days blend into each other.  But there are moments worth remembering.  In the most boring days, there are tiny things worthy of noting.  I’m going to use this journal to record those moments.  I’ll be making notes each day on my own life.  Perhaps you’d like to join me and take the time each day to record 3 things that matter at the end of the day.

3 things from today

That’s today’s page.   The first one is just a fact.  Today is Saint Patrick’s Day.  #2 is song lyrics I enjoyed today and I wrote #3 in bright orange pen and it didn’t scan well, but it says:  “Sacred Journal Syndrome–this journal is so amazing and different that I’m afraid to use it.”  I know these things aren’t majorly important, but they are the kind of things I like to remember.  I started my new journal and idea on a holiday.  I love music.  I liked noting my difficulty with my new journal.

A few other notes about this new journal.  (They are sort of rules, but I don’t want to call them rules, because art journaling has no rules…but anyway…)  First, I want this journal to have a minimalistic style.  Lots of white background and not too much cluttering up the pages.  Second, there are several heavy-duty pages mixed in with the flimsy ones.  I will do my usual artsy paintsy type stuff on those pages only.  The rest will have writing.  I want this journal to be a challenge for myself.  Also, I will only work on one page at a time instead of two page spreads.  This is going to be so fresh and exciting!

If anyone else is interested in playing along with my “3 Things” idea, please let me know.  Maybe we can start a Flickr group or something!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 10:05 pm

    ooh i like that idea! i may just do that in my regular journal. thanks!

  2. clairette permalink
    April 3, 2010 2:31 pm

    i think your idea is awesome…being a notebook adict, with this sacred journal syndrome you just talked about, i thougt “wow, perfect idea for me in my numerous notebooks…”

    so i picked one and here it is: i started mon carnet ” 3 choses par jours” on march 20…

    oh yes: i’m french!

    • April 3, 2010 8:17 pm

      I’m glad you decided to use one of your notebooks. The way I see it, 10 or 20 years from now would you rather have a bunch of empty notebooks or ones filled with the details of your life? Have fun!

  3. April 10, 2010 2:18 am

    That’s a great idea. I think I’m going to try it myself. It’s so important for us to see the “little happiness” that’s laying around in everyday life.

  4. April 5, 2011 4:36 pm

    Oh, I love this idea!! I’ve been keeping a gratitude journal in a small Flower Fairies notebook. Now I can keep a Three Things record in one of the myriad of other journals/notebooks I have in my stash!! Brilliant, Spooky!

    • April 9, 2011 10:33 am

      Yes, it’s a nice thing to look back on. I sort of stopped working in mine. i wish I’d kept it up.

Trackbacks

  1. Moleskiners

Leave a Reply

