Skip to content

iPhone Themed Mini-Book

March 31, 2010

Do you have an iPhone? I love mine. So many cool devices packed into one little machine. I spend way too much time staring at my iPhone screen. And I love snapping quick photos with the camera. Yesterday, I decided to make a quick project with some of my favorite iPhone pics.

I recently came across a set of iPhone training books.  They are about 4 by 2 inches in size and have a metal binding screw so the pages can fan out.

First, I removed the binding screw.  Then I sanded each page with heavy duty sandpaper.  I wanted the books to have a distressed look.

Next, a thin coat of black gesso.  You can still see the text and app icons, but it’s not distracting.

Then I choose 18 of my favorite iPhone photos and made wallet-sized prints of them.  Actually, I had to make them a little thinner than wallets, so I cut some off both sides.  Then I used a corner punch to round the corners of the photos.  I used double-sided tape to stick them on the pages of the book.  And, lastly, I used a white pen to caption each photo.  I made a quick cover for the book, naming it iSee.  Here is the finished project:

The photos aren’t great, but you get the idea.  A cute little flip book of all my favorite iPhone pics.  I have six or seven more of these books that I am going to put up for sale on my Etsy when it opens!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 9:30 pm

    very cool! it’s such fun making books, isn’t it? i’m very much looking forward to seeing your etsy shop, too!

  2. April 1, 2010 3:09 am

    That is a lovely, creative idea.Its also a great way to add a bit more info to your images. On the back of each card you could write about who or what your picture is of, why you took the photo, where and so on.:)

    • April 1, 2010 7:07 pm

      I wanted to do that, but I had so many pics I liked that I had to put photos on the front and back!

Leave a Reply

