Skip to content

Return of the $5 Art Supplies–Spray Paint!

March 31, 2010

Yes, it’s been a while since I’ve done a cheap supply post.  Yesterday I got to go outside and use a new medium for the very first time.

Spray paint!  I have read a lot about using spray paint on art journal pages, but since I started journaling just last November, the weather has not been right for me to try it.  Yesterday I picked up two cans of spray paint at Wal-Mart for around $3.50 each.  The kind I got was made by Krylon (which is supposed to be the best) in Jade and Plum (jade was matte and plum was glossy).  Then I grabbed my stencils (and wax paper to protect areas I didn’t want sprayed) and played around for a bit.  In my opinion, it didn’t go very well.  I’ve never used spray paint artistically before.  Nevertheless, I will show you the results.

A yellow acrylic background I sprayed with a patterned stencil.

A key-shaped mask sprayed with Plum paint.

Green twigs…

And a purple robot!

So, that’s my first go with spray paint.  I wish I had something amazing to show you.  My main objective was to make some simple background elements to journal over.  And I definitely want to get more spray paint practice.  If you have any good spray paint ideas or tips let me know.  And if you haven’t tried it before, pick up a couple of cans and let me know how it goes.

ps Come join the fun at Elsie’s 24-hour Blog Party! I can’t wait until midnight so I can sign up for the Tell Your Story Class!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 9:32 pm

    whoa ~ that robot is awesome. i’ve never tried spray paint in my journals; i’d image it takes some practice to get it right. i think these look really good, though. especially that robot.

    • April 1, 2010 7:01 pm

      Oh yeah, I love the robot, too. He is one of the stencils in the book Stencil Me In.

  2. April 1, 2010 3:12 am

    looks so cool!!!

  3. April 1, 2010 12:07 pm

    I have not been brave enough to try out actual spray paint yet. I keep thinking I want to but just thinking of the times I’ve spray painted for home projects and things and all the fumes and stuff, I’m not certain about it!
    I do use lots of spray inks and make sprayable paint in my bottles with my acrylics a lot….

    These backgrounds are awesome though – I love the patterned stencil one!

    • April 1, 2010 7:05 pm

      I love spray ink. I make my own with drink mix or food coloring (you may have seen my post about it). Have you heard about the Tulip Spray Cannon? It’s fabric spray paint with no fumes and can be used indoors. Tons of people have been using them in journals and scrapbooking. I want one!

  4. April 4, 2010 1:12 pm

    Ooh spray paint! Watch out, it is ADDICTIVE. And it is by far the cheapest at Wal-Mart.

    And it IS way harder to spray paint and make it look good than one would think. I think the key here is just to practice, practice, practice. There is some amazing art-journaling with spray paint.

    I am thinking about taking Mary Ann Moss’s “Stencilry” class. It looks awesome.

    • April 4, 2010 1:18 pm

      That class sounds interesting. I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

