Skip to content

Another Year Older

April 8, 2010

I just celebrated my 26th birthday on Monday. I cannot believe I’m 26. How did this happen? Just kidding. But I had a pretty nice birthday. I went out of town with my husband and we went shopping and saw Hot Tub Time Machine (John Cusack is my favorite actor). I bought a few things for myself. A new moleskine, some ink from Hobby Lobby, a couple of records, and two big bags of vintage clippings. I am going to scan and upload most of them to my Flickr. Here is my favorite:

Isn’t that gorgeous?  I have had this obsession with Henry Darger lately and that illustration reminds me of his work. When I saw all those clippings I thought of him and had to have them!

This video has been on a million blogs this week:

The records (yes, vinyl!) I bought were She and Him Volumes One and Two.  I have been hearing so much buzz about them lately and I really like Zooey as an actress.  I like the song in the video above, but I really wish I had researched them more.  Most of their songs are a bit too country for me.  I hate country music.  But I’ll give the records a few more spins.  Maybe they’ll grow on me.

And today Travis and I decided on which summer music festival we want to go to this year.  We have gone to Lollapalooza a few time, but this year we are (most likely) going to Bonnaroo.  I’m excited.  I’ve never been to Bonnaroo before.  I get to see Tomi Amos, Regina Spektor, The Dead Weather, Blues Traveler, Conan O’Brien, and a ton of other awesome stuff!

Poll Decisions:

Okay, so that was sort of a personal post, but I’ve decided to continue blogging in my usual way (mostly art related) after reviewing my polls I put up last month.  I also think I will stay here and just change my banner.  The last of the poll questions was a bit confusing.  It was “What should I blog about?” and the majority answered “other” but didn’t fill in the blanks to let me know what they want me to blog about.  If there is something you’d like me to blog about, don’t forget you can formspring me with questions and suggestions. I got my first question the other day from MakeALife and I plan on answering it very soon!

Oh, this has been a long, exhausting week.  And it’s only half over.  I took a very long nap after work today, so my sleep is finally caught up.  Tomorrow I plan on posting about the big 10×10 journal I’ve been working in.  I have still been working in my 3 Things journal as well, but I’m a couple of days behind.  I think I’ll go catch up now!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 3:08 pm

    may you have a beautiful year ahead of you!

  2. April 8, 2010 8:32 pm

    Oooh you love John Cusack AND vinyl?! AWESOME 🙂 Happy Belated.

Leave a Reply

