Skip to content

April 9, 2010

Here is April’s free background:

You know the rules, personal use only. Don’t sell. Hey, what have you been doing with the free backgrounds I’ve been posting each month? I saw a really easy tutorial that inspired me to create something with all the photocopied backgrounds I had lying around.

I am afraid of bookbinding.  But I think anyone can handle this.

The best part is that I actually had some of Traci Bautista’s collage sheets that I won in a drawing from her website.  I used a few pieces of her work here and there, but most of what I used is mine.  Here it is:

I LOVE IT!  It was so fun and easy to make.  The inside is full of colorful textured cardstock with a few pieces of patterned scrapbooking paper.  I can’t decide whether to keep this one or sell it.  I am definitely going to make more.  Here is the back:

I made the “mane” from all sorts of pretty yarn.  And I dug into my stash of Lisa Frank beads (circa 1992, lol) and put cute charms and beads here and there.  And I used clear tape with purple polka dots on the spine.  I am sitting here looking at it right now and it makes me so happy!

Oh, I forgot to mention last night that I finally bought a video editor.  I had to spend a while last night learning how to use the program, but my Grunge Text Tutorial video is nearly complete.  You can expect it within the next week, along with another $5 Supply post.  I am also going to try monoprinting for the first time and I’ll blog about it as well.  I am feeling super creative lately!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 4:10 pm

    Ooh, beautiful book!

  2. April 19, 2010 8:34 am

    I really enjoyed this video. Very creative!!! I’m going to give it a try in my journal.

    • April 19, 2010 3:03 pm

      Go for it! It’s quick and fun and looks pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

