Skip to content

My Big Journal

April 9, 2010

I have this big 10×10 spiral journal.  It started out as a scrapbook…but I think I’ve mentioned before that I suck at scrapbooking.  So, it’s just been sitting around for over a year, waiting for some love.  I thought it might be a good candidate for use as my Tell Your Story journal.  So, I dragged it out and did the intro page.  Here it is:

Sorry about the bad photo.  This journal is too big for my scanner, and I tend to work at night where there is little light.  The green “oh hi” envelope has a little bio about me in it:

I don’t know about this page.  I don’t even know about this journal.  Too big and weird and scrapbooky.  This was sort of a practice run to decide if I want to use this journal or my new moleskine.  I think this class was designed for big, scrapbooky journals, but I don’t know what will work for me.  Here is a page I in this journal that’s not related to the Tell Your Story class:

I like this one.  It give me hope that I will, in fact, like using this journal.  Hmm, decisions, decisions.  Wanna see a couple of my old scrapbook pages that were in this journal?

I love that photo of me!  Oh, I guess I should explain the name thing, right?  My real name is Ashley and I hate it.  I wish I had a simple, classic name.  Lucy Ledger (Ledger is very close to my real last name, just shorter and re-arranged) is my pen name, and what I like to use to be anonymous.  I use Lucy on social networking sites so I have a bit more control over who finds me and who my “friends” are, because I’m a private person.  And Spooky’s my cute little nickname.  I’ll answer to any of the three.

And a Spring to-do list.  It’s from last Spring, but it could work for this Spring, too.

There is still plenty of time to get in on the Tell Your Story class. It doesn’t officially start until the 26th, but there are some bonus prompts up now. If you’re already in the class, I’d love to hear what kind of journal you’re using. I think my big journal is growing on me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 3:30 am

    Your pages look great! I’m also taking the Tell Your Story Class and I’m pretty excited about it, eventhought I’ve never really scrapbooked before.

    • April 9, 2010 11:19 pm

      Welcome and thanks! If you’re new to art journaling, feel free to browse around. There is tons of info for beginners on my blog!

  2. April 9, 2010 12:43 pm

    Happy belated birthday Lucy/SPooky! 🙂 I work in a large journal and I love it, it can be filled with 1000 small images or just one large magazine page to doodle on! 🙂 Good luck with yours!

    • April 9, 2010 11:21 pm

      Thanks. It is pretty fun and challenging to try to fill up more space than you’re used to. I do have tons of pretty magazine pages I should paste in there.

  3. April 9, 2010 3:51 pm

    what a great journal!! So lush and inviting. Just draws me in!

    • April 9, 2010 11:22 pm

      Thank you. By the way, I really loved the collage pack I got from you. I have used lots of bits here and there. Since it’s all so new to me, it’s usually the first place I hit when I’m looking for something fun to add to my journal.

  4. April 24, 2010 3:30 pm

    yay! I looove your pictures of yourself! I personally don’t have any good pictures of myself lying around (and I don’t have a printer), so I have no idea what I’m gonna do for the class! Ugh! But I’m really glad that someone I know will be there! I can’t wait for it to start!

Leave a Reply

