Skip to content

The One Where I Try Monoprinting

April 16, 2010

Have you heard of the Crusades?  It’s a great website that offers up a monthly mixed media challenge.  I’ve been keeping up with it since I started art journaling, but for some reason I’ve never actually done any of the experiments.  The one for this month looked fun, so I decided to give it a go.  I do love being an art journal mad scientist!

Monoprinting is the name of the game.  The Crusades website defines it as making “a singular print from an original painted background”.  I won’t explain the whole thing, but you should definitely go to the site and look at the awesome detailed instructions there.  The supplies I used were index cards, a brayer, paint and ink, and my acrylic stamping block.

Oh, and stencils.  I used paper ones from Hobby Lobby.  I choose a few simple shapes that I liked.  I also used sequin waste as a stencil.

It was really fun.  I went through half a package of index cards!  Now I have tons of neat images to add to my art journal.  I decided to make a quick layout with one tonight.

Sharpie, gesso, acrylic paint, tissue paper, gel pens and a butterfly monoprint.  I colored the wings with watercolor pencil, too.  I think this page needs a little more work still.  I am getting sleepy, though.  I think I’ll have a cup of chamomile and go to bed.  Goodnight!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 3:18 pm

    very cool! i saw this crusade last week – i’ll have to give it a go soon. happy art journaling!

  2. April 18, 2010 4:07 pm

    spooky – thanks for coming to play!! LOVE your claim at being *an art journaling mad scientist*! i also love hearing that you went through a half a pack of cards! yay! that’s alot of scientific work 😉 looking good!

    • April 19, 2010 3:13 pm

      Oh yeah, I love to experiment! I need to go back through and try more crusades!

  3. April 18, 2010 7:00 pm

    Beautiful try !! Welcome to the team 🙂

  4. April 19, 2010 4:48 am

    The idea to use index cards is great, isn’t it? I love your prints and especially your journalpage. Helen

    • April 19, 2010 3:06 pm

      Thanks. I like yours too, especially the shells and the heart. Very pretty colors!

  5. April 22, 2010 4:01 pm

    I had a lot of fun, too. It’s such quick eye candy! Your butterfly is really cool, and I like that you made a collage right away. Thanks for joining in this time! I can’t every time, but I really learn a lot whenever I do.

    • April 23, 2010 7:42 pm

      Thanks! I am going to try to start doing the crusades monthly. They are too fun!

  6. April 22, 2010 8:30 pm

    you are awesome and so is your work!!!!

  7. April 24, 2010 1:15 am

    “Art Journal Mad Scientist”
    that’s just too cool. Sounds like a great title for a book.
    Fun results. Thanks for sharing.

  8. April 29, 2010 7:11 am

    Your prints came out cool. I like the journal page.

Leave a Reply

