Skip to content

$5 Art Journaling Supplies–Brayer

April 20, 2010

A brayer is a useful tool to add to your art journaling supplies.  It was always on my list of things to pick up at Hobby Lobby, but I always ended up deciding it was too expensive.  Luckily, I manged to catch one half off, so it only ran me about $4.  I got mine in the stamping supplies.  It’s all painty in the photo, but it was originally red and made of rubber.

There are lots of things you can do with a brayer, but I particularly enjoy spreading paint around with it.  Get a brayer and take some time this week to prep some of your journal pages.  Be playful and creative.  Remember, if you don’t like what you come up with, you can gesso and start over!

More brayer love:

Daisey Yellow’s Bubbled Brayer Backgrounds, which inspired iHanna to play along. And here is a brayered background tutorial from Mother Henna.

Speaking of videos, I wanted to do a journal flip today, but it totally slipped my mind.  I have made my own journal and I really want to show it off, but I’ll have to wait for better lighting.  See you soon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 11:21 pm

    love the effects in your journal details! a brayer is on my list… hope i’m as lucky as you and can get it cheaply! by the way, i do so love your blog – it’s such an inspiration. what you share is brilliant and helpful, and your pictures are super gorgeous!

    • April 21, 2010 7:53 am

      Thank you, thank you, thank you. Comments like yours make me want to keep posting!

Leave a Reply

