Skip to content

TV Time

May 10, 2010

image via weheartit.com

Television may be the biggest time-suck you own.  If you want to make time for your art, you need to cut down on tv time.  I want you to consider what I’m about to say.  Don’t laugh.  Consider it.  You don’t need cable/satellite. I have been without cable over two years and it’s amazing!  First of all, you’ll save like $60 a month.  That’s cash you could put towards art supplies!  You’ll never get sucked into channel-surfing or watching some show you’re not really into because “there’s nothing good on”.  Did you know that you can watch most of your favorite tv shows online?  Just go to that station’s website and check it out.  I only watch two tv shows (Lost and Breaking Bad).  My husband and I pull them up online each week and watch them together.  Here are some other tv options:

  • Watch all kinds of shows, old and new, on sites like surf the channel or Hulu.
  • Sign up for NetFlix and watch movies and tv shows instantly. I pay about $11 a month for this and we get one movie at a time in the mail and watch the instant selection on our PS3 or Wii.
  • Try setting your sleep timer to turn your tv off just after your favorite show is over.  Once it goes off, don’t turn it back on.  Go make art instead.
  • Depending on where you live, you may get a pretty good selection of local tv channels with a decent digital antenna.  I have a set of digital “rabbit ears” hooked to my tv/monitor in my office so I can watch the news every now and then.
  • Listen to radio shows or podcasts  instead of watching tv.  I like The Horror and This American Life.

Okay, I’m done preaching to you about the evils of tv.  You may watch it with my permission, only if you do something constructive while your shows are on.  Behold, another list:

Stuff to do while watching tv

  • prep your pages with gesso
  • flip through magazines and pull out photos you want to use in your journal
  • organize your supplies or “fodder”
  • hand-cut letters for page titles
  • doodle
  • make notes of any inspirations you get while watching (look for interesting color combos or quotes you like)
  • film a Journal Flip during commercials
  • make a rough sketch of what you want to work on after the show is over
  • drag out that old tv tray and use it as a desk for journaling and make a page
  • set up a “tv time” workstation with some of your supplies so you can create while watching

This is Part 2 of my Making Time For Your Art Series.  See Part 1 here.

I’ll be back on Wednesday with a really fun supply post!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 3:23 pm

    So true! My roommates have cable, but I don’t watch it, I have netflix instead! When I got netflix, I finally got to watch all the Heroes Seasons! So much you can watch for 9-11 bucks a month. 🙂

  2. May 13, 2010 2:40 pm

    so true! Love your suggestions for what you could do in front of the telly. I always grab a few watercolour crayons, pens, waterpaintbrush, glue ¨, scissors and paper and just let the basis for a page emerge-

    • May 13, 2010 10:43 pm

      Yes, I’ve gotten to where I can’t just sit idly in front of the tv. I must create!

Leave a Reply

