Skip to content

Bubble Art

May 13, 2010

I have another fun, cheap project for you.  Let’s make bubble art!  I first read about this neat idea in The Big Ass Book of Crafts, which is a great book. I keep it on my bookshelf next to my Stitch ‘N Bitch books so I can tell people I only buy craft books with swear words in the title…but I digress.  What I love about my art journal is how much fun I have while creating.  Wanna play along?

Gather your supplies.  You need some cheap cups, a straw, bubbles or dish soap, and something to add color to your bubbles.  I used food coloring, but you could use paint or ink as well.  Pour some bubble liquid in your cup, add the straw and blow some bubbles.  I found that what worked best for me was filling the cup half-way up with bubbles, dropping some food coloring on top, then blowing more bubbles until the cup was overflowing.

Then you add your bubbles to your paper.  You can dab your paper on the bubbles…

Or scrap the bubbles from the cup with a pallet knife and add them to your paper.

I added bubble art to some white cardstock and envelopes.

Don’t you love the funky results?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 12:33 am

    :O!
    I absolutely love this! What a wonderful effect!! Yay Spooky!

    Btw, I wish you’d come to Austin! It’d be so exciting to meet a fellow classmate/art journaler! If I manage (I doubt, but i can dream!) to get a pic of Elsie, I’ll insert a circle that says “Insert Spooky here” 😀

    btw, I finally painted in my customized journal today! The folder paper works great! I was scared that it wasn’t heavy enough to handle the gesso and paint, but it held up great! I looove my journal!! ❤

    Stay awesome!
    -Natty

  2. May 14, 2010 5:17 am

    love the effect! wouldnt it be cool if you tried to “draw” a colour mandala with this?
    Hah buy books with swearwords in the title! Gotta love u!
    🙂

    • May 17, 2010 5:50 pm

      I didn’t even think about trying to make a certain design. I will try that next time.

  3. zooeylovesbugs permalink
    May 14, 2010 5:37 am

    How awesome, what a great idea!! My art journal has been on hiatus because I’ve been to busy with rehearsals for two plays and work beyond that. But now I feel inspired to get back into art journalling with a new technique to try out.

    • May 17, 2010 5:54 pm

      Have fun and let me know how you bubble art turns out.

  4. May 14, 2010 1:05 pm

    once again, a brilliant idea! thanks for sharing ~

  5. kraftykkitten permalink
    March 28, 2011 5:58 pm

    wow, I love this idea! great work and thank you so much for sharing your $5.00 hints and tips with us

    • March 28, 2011 9:46 pm

      Glad you liked it! I always have this dream in the back of my mind to write some sort of “Thrifty Artist Tips” zine or book. Maybe someday I’ll get around to starting!

      • kraftykkitten permalink
        March 29, 2011 3:07 am

        Spooky,
        have you visited the site “fast pencil” you can write the book online and do the editing etc etc and the costs are supposed to be cheaper etc, anyways I thought I’d mention it have a peek, I’d love to read your book!

      • April 1, 2011 9:55 am

        yes, I’ve thought about using one of those sites to make a book. But when I’ll get around to it–who knows!

Leave a Reply

