Skip to content

A Dozen Journal Pages (Part 1)

May 14, 2010

I have been so busy dreaming up ideas for my journal shop (coming soon!) that I feel like I haven’t done any actual journaling lately.  So, I was pretty surprised last night when I started scanning in my pages and I realized I had twelve to share with you.  I figured it would be more fun to split them up into two posts.  Here are the first six.

Ingredients:  acrylic paint with crackle medium, masking tape, pen, sharpie, yeah yeah yeahs lyrics, and a photo of me and Travis from 2006.  I love that photo.  We were on the amtrak on our way to Chicago.

ingredients:  scrapbook paper, gesso, watercolor, pen, sharpie, and white paint pen.  The paint pen got a little out of control, so I decided to have fun with the mess.  I did most of this page in the breakroom at work.

ingredients:  paint, tissue paper, clothing pattern, grid paper, portfolio pastels, pen, deco tape, and an owl sticker.

ingredients:  image transfer using scrapbooking paper (polka dots in background), grey gesso, watercolor, pen, and a magazine scrap of Alice.

Ingredients:  grey gesso, acrylic paint, pen, scrapbooking paper, stickers, masking tape, polaroid, and photo.  I recently discovered that one of my polaroid cameras still had some film in it, but the photos didn’t turn out.  So, I printed a digital photo and taped it over the bad polaroid.  So, I have created the pola-fauxla-roid!

Ingredients:  found papers, tissue paper, gesso, watercolors, scrapbooking paper, portfolio pastels, pen, and graph paper with typewritten wishes.  I think I posted this one before I put the three wishes on it.

Some of these were inspired by the class I’m taking, but I do not like to stick to the prompts.  From now on, I’m only taking technique based journaling classes, rather than prompt based.  I do like the class, but it does not have enough artsy, paintsy kind of stuff for me.  So, I mix styles and do their prompts on top of my backgrounds and it all works out.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 1:15 am

    lovely! I’d like to have awesome red hair as well ^^

  2. May 15, 2010 6:39 am

    I adore your journal pages!

    Sasha 🙂

  3. May 15, 2010 10:25 am

    beautiful pages.

    • May 17, 2010 5:46 pm

      Thank you! How is your journaling coming along? Are you out of your rut yet?

  4. May 15, 2010 9:32 pm

    I feel the same way too. Too many prompts, not enough techniques. But there aren’t enough technique classes out there! I feel like most art journalists have a hard time figuring out what to write about. But if you haven’t taken this woman’s class, you should! Dina Wakely! She has a great series of art journaling classes on “Get it Scrapped” 🙂

    • May 17, 2010 1:13 pm

      I’ve been meaning to ask you if you likes dina’s classes. I love her style, so maybe I’ll try her classes next.

  5. May 18, 2010 12:38 pm

    these are great! excited to see the next 6! and i think you should buy a box of red hair dye……….. 😉

    • May 18, 2010 1:10 pm

      If only I could have crayon-red hair, but they’d never allow it at my job. Someday, even if I have to wait until I retire, it will happen.

Leave a Reply

