Skip to content

Adventures in Texture

June 25, 2010

So, if you neglect your blog for too long, do the internet police come take it away?  My creativity tends to ebb and flow and lately it has been pretty slow around here.  I still make it a habit to hit my journal ever day or so and try to make something happen.  Today I’m playing around with background textures.

Simple and quick; just what my overworked brain needs right now.  Start with a thick layer of gesso, scrape lines and swirls into the page with a comb and let it dry.  Then add a color or two of acrylic paint (light colors work best) and let it dry.  Then, bring out the texture with a layer of water-soluble oil pastels (use dark colors here).  Rub the oil pastels in with your hands to get an even layer.

I first stumbled on this technique when making the page above.  I thought I’d revisit it today since I haven’t come up with anything new lately.  It’s no fun when you can’t find your Spark.  I’ve been busying myself with work and making things for my shop.  I know my creativity will come back (it always does!) but until then, things might be a little slow around here.  I am on the hunt for new inspiration.  Here’s where I’ll be spending the next few hours:

I just discovered Journal Artista’s youtube page.
Browsing around iHanna’s art journaling archives. Always an amazing source of inspiration.
And searching for new techniques at The Crusades.

Do you have any techniques you’d like to see me try in my journal? In my Etsy profile, I call myself a Mixed-Media Mad Scientist. I love artistic experiments!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. imperialhotel permalink
    June 25, 2010 6:59 pm

    i love that technique!

  2. June 25, 2010 9:17 pm

    oh, i feel your pain…and I LOVE all three of those sites! I actually just did Michelle’s newest crusade for the first time in a long time.

    I think everyone who is creative fights with the ebb and flow monster, I know I do. I was recently in an ebb, sucked into depression and dealt with a family loss. Needless to say, I am just starting to get my feet wet after months of little art play. My psyche thanks me.

    Just keep in mind that one day, that spark will begin to renew and pretty soon you’ll be back to having ideas and plans out your ears.

    • June 27, 2010 11:37 am

      Yep it’s pretty rough. I’m glad to see you’ve gotten your groove back with those awesome mandalas. I need to try something new, but I don’t really enjoy making mandalas.

  3. June 30, 2010 4:30 pm

    Thanks for the link love my dear! How beautiful your journals in the prev post are, wow! I need to try paste paper! And this technique too, looks great!

    • July 1, 2010 11:46 am

      ohh paste paper does look fun! I wonder if you can use regular glue instead of having to make the paste. I’ll have to try and find out.

  4. Ieva permalink
    June 30, 2010 11:08 pm

    I found your blog today and I haven’t been able to stop reading it. I’m addicted. 🙂

  5. July 6, 2010 10:38 pm

    hey spooky…i bought a gigantic thing of wallpaper paste at Lowes for pretty cheap, and it makes PERFECT paper paste and NO lumps! It probably is going to last me a lifetime.

    • July 7, 2010 10:56 pm

      Thanks for the tip. I meant to grab some wallpaper paste today but I forgot. Oh well.

  6. July 14, 2010 5:01 pm

    I just found your blog from “Dirty Footprints” interviews of 30 in 30. Very inspirational. I love finding new textures to add to my pages! Looking forward to reading more!

    • July 14, 2010 5:56 pm

      Hi! Thanks for commenting. I wasn’t really into creating textures until I took Connie’s art journaling class and now I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

