Skip to content

Drawing Cats on The Porch

July 10, 2010

So, I’ve decided the best way to get over my creative block is to try something new.  I’ve never been much of a doodler.  In high school art class, I drew decently, if given enough time.  And I even drew at home for fun sometimes, but it’s been years since I’ve done any real drawing.  On Thursday I went to the mall with a few friends and came home with lots of paperback goodies.  Among them was Drawing Lab by Carla Sonheim.  I’ve seen this book around, but didn’t think I’d enjoy it until I saw a couple posts at The Four Rooms Blog featuring the Imaginary Creatures from the book. I started to research the book a bit more and that’s when I noticed that the book was “for mixed-media artists” and I was sold.  I also got the lastest issue of Art Journaling Magazine and  Creative Wildfire after reading Make-A-Life’s review.  I have not read either of these yet, I’ve just been focusing on drawing for now. I did notice that Creative Wildfire comes with a free recycled journal and I decided to use it as a sketchbook for drawing lab.  You can see it in the above picture after I jazzed up the cover with half a million layers of mixed media.  I could do more, but you have to stop somewhere, right?  Anyway, the first drawing lab is simply called “Draw Cats In Bed”.  The idea is that you go lay down and get comfy and try a bit of sketching.  Here is my attempt, done on the porch because my husband was napping in our bed at the time.

They are quite awkward, but very fun to draw.  I mostly copied the author’s style, with the wide eyes that go out past the edges of the face.  The next Lab is contour drawing!  That’s where you draw without looking at the page.  I always cheated and looked in high school art class.  Lets see if I can manage this time without cheating!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 1:45 pm

    Im glad you went out & bought that book. It sounds a bit silly, but it makes me so happy that thx to reading my blo, someone has discovered a cool mew book.
    I love the way you have jazzed up the free booklet& i like that its recycled ( read the inside cover envelope it came iin). Anyway good luck with the whole drawing thing& let me give you the best piece of drawing advice i have ever gotten: to be able to draw, doesnt mean being able to draw something from your imagination,it means being able to draw it from real life ( abstract 2)

    • July 10, 2010 11:40 pm

      I’m glad you posted the review or I might not have paid much attention to the book. I love hearing book reviews from other art journalers. That is good advice. I am always jealous of people who can draw from their imagination, though. Hopefully I’ll be able to do both someday!

  2. July 10, 2010 9:38 pm

    oh, how funny! I have also decided to try my hand at doodling/drawing lately, because I have been in a creative rut as well 🙂 Right now I’m taking the stance of trying to literally draw what I see. I have never been able to draw, so I’m in a different place than you, but I like your kitties. I looked through Carla’s book, but I think I need to start at the basics.

  3. July 11, 2010 7:26 pm

    good idea to try something new! love your kitties ~ they remind me lots of iHanna’s style. very cute!

    • July 14, 2010 6:05 pm

      thanks! I love Hanna’s work, so I take that as a high compliment. Sorry it took me so long to reply to your comment. I’m playing catch-up today!

  4. July 12, 2010 5:34 pm

    Aww cute kitties :3
    they remind me of an anime I used to watch called Trigun, and there was a black cat that looked like the ones you drew that would pop up randomly during the show. Haha 😀

Leave a Reply

