Skip to content

Safari Sketchbook

July 17, 2010

My sketchbook is a neon jungle filled with all sorts of creatures.  Do you spot anything hiding in its pages?

Here is my friend the Pellucid-Finned Angler Fish*

How about a Greenie-Leafy-Spendy-Bunny?**

A vicious turtle-eating moth, the Terripinarian (or maybe they are just passionately in love?).

What about yours truly as a Pin-Up Girl*** Zombie?  I especially love the ribcage!  And I love the Punk Duck (lets call him Dirk****).

Here are a couple more paint-blobs.  I haven’t spotted anything hiding in them yet.

There are so many obscure references in this post that i had to create a guide for you guys.  Now you’ll see what a dork I really am.  If you haven’t figured it out already!

*We use passwords at work a lot.  They are assigned to our store at random.  Recently, one of our reps called to tell us our password is now “Pellucid”.  None of us knew what it meant, and few could even pronounce it, so I looked it up for everyone.  It means “translucent”.  Now everyone at work goes around pointing out things that are “pellucid”.

**SquidBillies reference.  “Greenie, Leafy, Spendy Money?”

***My hair really does that flippy thing on the ends!

****Francesca Lia Block reference.  She is my favorite author.  Dirk and Duck are characters in the Dangerous Angels series.

This paint blob adventure was another idea from Drawing Lab.  And, no, no one is paying me to advertise for them, I just really enjoy the book!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 11:49 pm

    oh i love the drawings you found in paint blobs! I did that with a watercolor blob once, and really enjoyed it. I don’t think I can always be “free” enough to do it often, but it is a good exercise in seeing differently. I love the girl you found. hehe.

Leave a Reply

