Skip to content

My First Ever Hand-Bound Book

July 28, 2010

I have always been intimidated by bookbinding.  Maybe it’s because I’m no good with a sewing needle.  But today I decided to be brave and give it a try.  I actually made a book.  From scratch.  Without my spiral-binding machine.  It’s not perfect, but here it is:

Not bad, right?  I am almost finished with my current art journal and I think this will be my next one.

The book is made almost entirely out of wallpaper samples.  Make friends at the hardware store and you’ll end up with huge books of wallpaper samples.  These samples came out of a wallpaper book called “Damasks and Stripes”.

I choose a simple color scheme of black, white, and beige.  I can’t wait to play in these pages and see how the designs come through!

I have tried painting on the wallpaper before.  It is really sturdy, yet flexible.  A fantastic substrate!

I am pretty excited about this journal.  I learned a lot and there are a few things I want to do differently next time, but it was not nearly as difficult as I had imagined.  In fact, it was pretty easy.  In case you are wondering, I used the directions from Traci Bautista’s book Collage Unleashed to guide me in binding this journal.  If you are a more visual person, there are tons of instructional videos on YouTube.

Oh, and this is unrelated, but I wanted to show off all these goodies I won from Rogue Raven’s Nest. I had totally forgotten about winning it when it came in the mail, so it was a pleasant surprise.  There so many neat things:  chipboard letters, stickers, lace, fabric, collage papers, blank puzzle pieces, stamps, and even some oil pastels!  I love all of it!  Thank so much, Aly!

I have taken to hanging out and watching other art journalers on uStream.  I think Journal Artista will be on tonight at 9:30 central and I’ll probably be there.  Hope to see you there!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 8:07 pm

    yes!!!!!! GOOD JOB!!! That is FANTASTIC! *rock out*

    Now…how on earth did you get a bunch of wallpaper samples?! I WANT SOME. This is amazing for your first book.

    • July 28, 2010 8:18 pm

      Thanks! Yay, I’m glad someone likes it!!
      My co-worker’s boyfriend manages a paint store and she dragged these books home so her daughter could use them as scrapbooking paper for her senior scrapbook. Once her daughter was done with them, I graciously took them off her hands! You could try eBay or just ask your local paint or hardware store if you can have them when they are done with them. Good luck!

  2. July 29, 2010 3:00 pm

    your journal is beautiful! awesome job..

  3. Carly permalink
    August 1, 2010 12:30 pm

    I love Damask print; this looks like a great journal! I’m sure it will be fun to play in.

    • August 1, 2010 10:17 pm

      Thanks I just started painting in it today and I love it so far!

Leave a Reply

