Skip to content

Tax Holiday

August 6, 2010

blur

Whew, took me a minute there to figure out how to add this photo now that they have changed Flickr.  I think I get it now.  Anyway, this is the first completed page in my new wallpaper art journal.  I have decided to challenge myself to draw and write more in this journal.  I have a bad habit of completing pretty backgrounds and never putting anything on them.

I love making posts about cheap art supplies, so I thought I’d mention that this weekend in Missouri is a sales tax holiday for anything Back to School related.  If your state has a tax-free weekend, it’s a great time to pick up some cheap art supplies.  I got some gluesticks, scissors, crayon, composition books, pencils, pretty colored staples, and a new paintbrush today.  Score!  Plus, I got a secret item that I plan to make a post about very soon.

Speaking of secrets, I am going to be a part of something really big and art journal related this fall.  It has to do with the 30 Journals 30 Days project.  I am super excited about that and I will let you guys know as soon as I find out if Connie has announced it yet.

I don’t have much else to say, but I hate to let my blog go for over a week without posting.  I do want to mention this post from my friend Ingrid.  She is raising money to buy supplies for Tomo, a girl who is brand new to art journaling!  I will leave you with a couple of photos from my iPhone.  I really want to take this class on iPhone photography.
clown dog

bird at Panera

self

I am in love with lomography-style photos. My favorite apps are Hipstamatic, Swankolab, and Lo Mob.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 9:47 pm

    ooh!! I LOVE your iphone photos!!!

    PS: I think you should do the Sketchbook Project. It will be such a great way to stretch your wings in the drawing arena. I am doing it 🙂

    • August 6, 2010 9:52 pm

      Actually, I am doing the sketchbook project. I just keep forgetting to mention it on here. I have my sketchbook, but I haven’t started yet because I am thinking of re-binding it with thicker paper. In fact, that’s the whole reason I decided to learn bookbinding. It’s going to be fun!

  2. August 6, 2010 11:29 pm

    oo, love the soft background on this! thanks so much for mentioning me, too; i do hope that we can get some basic things for lovely tomo. i really appreciate your help, and your donation!

    love,

    • August 7, 2010 4:40 pm

      You’re welcome! I look forward to seeing what Tomo does with her supplies. Now we just have to talk her into setting up a blog!

  3. August 7, 2010 2:24 pm

    You are good at taking iphone pictures!!I have just got one. Do you have any tips for taking Iphone photos? have you ever used these photos in your art? Is that your dog? Soo cute!!!!:)

    • August 7, 2010 4:45 pm

      Thanks. Which iPhone did you get? I’m a total phone nerd. I sell phones all day at work. I don’t have a whole lot of tips, the main thing I like to do is make sure my main subject is off-center–it makes your photos more interesting. I do occasionally use these photos in my journal. And, no, that’s not my dog, just a cutie I met at a craft fair!
      Oh, and try those apps I mentioned, they are fun!

Leave a Reply

