Skip to content

Inspired by…MUSIC

August 10, 2010

I think my cheap art supply series has kind of ran its course, at least for a while.  I have been stumped for post ideas for a while, but tonight I realized that simple inspiration posts might be worth a try (and I promise not to bombard you with just links and photos–I will present my own work too).  Welcome to my “Inspired By” series.

IMG_0737

I don’t know about you, but I’m a huge music junkie.  Before I started creating art I used music to escape.  Now, I have both and art and music are a fantastic combination.  What are you listening to lately?  I am currently obsessed with Auf Der Maur.  If you’ve never heard of her, Melissa Auf Der Maur is a former member of Hole and the Smashing Pumpkins.  I love both of her solo albums.

This is my favorite song right now.  I have listened to it so many times that it has started to leak into my art.  The last few pages in my Olive journal are definitely inspired by it.

dreamer

Remember that unfinished background? I played around adding layers to a tag, and then added some lyrics. “If you’re listening, you’re a dreamer. Come sit by my fire.”

scales

And this was a handmade stencil I made from a magazine image. It was too big to fit on the page vertically, so I tilted it, which made it look sort of like she was swimming, so I added another lyric. “We have the tiny scales to swim.” She kind of looks like a mermaid, too, because I forgot to cut the space between her legs.

ooom

And this is the final page in my Olive journal. I think it really sums up how I feel about art journaling. It takes us “out of our minds and into our hearts”.

IMG_0739

Music, music, music.  That’s a photo of mine and my husband’s music collection.  Actually, you can’t even see all of it.  That case holds 1080 cds, and it’s almost full.  Plus I have a vinyl record collection as well.  Crazy, right?

What is your current favorite song?  How does it make you feel?  What colors does it evoke?  Take some time this week to express your musical passion in your journal.

ps, the first and last photos were taken with my iPhone–I’m so glad you guys liked my iPhone pics on the last post!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Mariano permalink
    August 10, 2010 10:48 pm

    Wow! Your music collection is outstanding!

    I love MAdM, and I’m sure she’ll be happy to know her art is a source of inspiration to other artists.

    • August 12, 2010 1:13 pm

      yes, she is awesome! I need to give her first album a better listen. I’ve got it around here somewhere.

  2. August 11, 2010 3:37 am

    Wow ! You have soo many cds!!

    I like your pages. I normally always listen to music when i art journal, but funny enough i have never included lyrics from a song in my art. But now, seeing your pages, i think i will go off and try it…

    • August 12, 2010 1:16 pm

      Lyrics seem to work really well for me, because they let me express myself without being too personal. Since I share my work online with the whole world, I kind of edit what I really want to say. But I need to get over that.

  3. loveisfreedom permalink
    August 11, 2010 10:43 am

    Wow – awesome post, and awesome CD collection. I don’t have nearly that many, but it’s growing! Current favorite song? Eep! There are so many! I’m constantly listening to music – while working, reading, art journaling, etc. etc. during the day and night.

    Some current favorites:

    Weezer – “The Angel and the One” (it really resonates and takes me higher; the lyrics and melodies as kind of a chant/mantra — it’s easy to get lost in this one)

    and

    Dave Matthews Band & Tim Reynolds – “Sister” (Live at Radio City) (the lyrics, and the quiet-ness of the song)

    • August 12, 2010 1:20 pm

      Oh, I love Weezer! I’ve seen them live twice and they were great, but I need to invest in more of their albums. I only have one, the 10-year re-issue of their first album. I absolutely love “Surf Wax America”. I used to like DMB back in the 90’s. I think I still have a cassette of Under the Table and Dreaming!

      • loveisfreedom permalink
        August 12, 2010 3:58 pm

        I’m slowly getting into Weezer and DMB — it’s tough with artists that have such a following because I feel pressured to like a lot of their music, even if I only have a few favorites — oh well. Ha. 🙂

        I only have Weezer’s “Red Album,” but it’s a start…I’d love to see them live, though — I haven’t been to a live show in a bit. I’m hoping U2 will be next on the list, sooner rather than later.

        Ah, cassettes! I still have all of mine — I was more into R&B/Pop singles (Michael and Janet Jackson, for example).

      • August 14, 2010 8:49 am

        Cassettes are fun. I Have a tape player in my car, so I still make mixtapes. As you can imagine, they are EPIC, lol!

  4. August 11, 2010 5:42 pm

    ooh good question. i have no favorite song…well Jeff Buckley’s Hallelujah is way up on the list. It is haunting and beautiful. There are too many! I also have a very meager vinyl collection. If I ever get money again I cant wait to buy more.

    • August 12, 2010 1:25 pm

      I have heard so many good things about Jeff Buckley, but I’ve never actually heard him. I have almost bought his cd Grace about 12 times! Maybe next time.
      As far as absolute favorite songs, mine are The Cure’s version of “Young Americans” and “Thirty-Three” by Smashing Pumpkins. But Beck and Death Cab for Cutie are my favorite bands. It’s pretty tough picking favorites.

  5. August 14, 2010 1:51 pm

    GO. BUY. GRACE. You will NOT regret it.

Leave a Reply

