Skip to content

Lookie–An Art Journal Challenge Blog!

August 12, 2010

I just found a new art journal challenge blog.  Check it out here! This week’s challenge is all about creating texture in gesso–something I love to do. So, of course, I got right to it. Here is my submission:

theives

I started with a thick layer of gesso, which I stamped with a swirly rubber stamp for texture.  After it dried I smooshed on a layer of water-soluble oil pastels.  I didn’t want that to smear, so I added a layer of Collage Pauge, then some polka dotted tissue paper.  I grabbed the first patterned paper I saw in my scrap box and stuck it on there and put a little more gesso on to blend.  I printed off a few iPhone pics and choose this one because it matches the color scheme I had going on.  I glued the photo on and smeared some regular oil pastels on the page.  I found a cool scrapbooking sticker and put it on the photo.  Then I got out my typewriter and typed a lyric* I had running through my head on some scrap paper.  Then I cut the words out, glued them on, and used a colored pencil to trace around the text boxes.  The whole page took me about 20 minutes from start to finish and it was a lot of fun!  It’s in my moleskine sketchbook.  I love my sketchbook.  I sketch away without fear, because anything I don’t like I can just gesso over and turn into an art journal page.  So, my sketchbook has only the drawings I like, plus tons of mixed media.

*I just watched The 500 Days of Summer, which has this Regina Spektor song playing in it and it’s been stuck in my head all day.  By the way, I loved the movie.  It’s like High Fidelity (my favorite) plus Eternal Sunshine (another great movie) so it may be my new favorite!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 5:30 am

    nice! my page took me a bit longer

    and welcome to the challenge

  2. August 12, 2010 2:01 pm

    I ♥ this page! The colors are so vibrant and you picked a terrific photo! The quote you included is intriguing and begs the viewer to follow their own interpretation of the storyline. I love it! Thanks so much for playing along with my challenge, and for generously sharing it with your readers!
    ~ky

    • August 14, 2010 8:52 am

      Thanks for creating the blog. I love a challenge and I have been wanting to make more art journal friends, so I think your blog is brilliant. Thanks!

  3. August 12, 2010 5:14 pm

    oh my god! I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEE High Fidelity AND Eternal Sunshine. Now, I MUST see this movie!! Wooooo. I love your spread 🙂 I shall check out this blog too.

    • August 14, 2010 8:46 am

      Wow, I rarely meet anyone who has heard of High Fidelity. Yes, you need to watch 500 Days of Summer!

  4. August 14, 2010 3:10 am

    hi, just stumbled acrossyour blog. nice page, love the photo. and thanks for that new blog link, two blogs in one go, lol.

    • August 14, 2010 8:44 am

      Hi Monica! I “know” you. I have been reading your blog for a couple of months now. I’m bad about getting around to commenting, but I do love your blog. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. joyce permalink
    August 15, 2010 8:47 pm

    Love all the texture layers

Leave a Reply

