Skip to content

Inspired by…a change of pace

August 27, 2010

mary4

Inspiration can be a fickle thing.  One day, you’re zipping through pages in you art journal and the next, you barely have the desire to lift your paintbrush.  This past week, I have been on the low end of the spectrum.  My energy has been on the low end of the spectrum as well, so I wanted to do something simple and relaxing.  Collage is my favorite relaxing pastime, and luckily I had a big, fat package of {almost}free collage stuff ready to go.  How did I get this {almost}free stuff, you ask?  I recently came across a really amazing Flickr group called 6×6 Collages.  The rules of the group are simple:  you find a partner, exchange collage goodies, create a few 6 inch by 6 inch collages, and post them in the group’s pool.  So I found a partner (the amazing Erin, aka Mugwort’s Castle) and traded supplies with her.  It’s a great way to de-stash and get amazing new stuff at the same time.

mary5

I have to say, the stuff Erin sent me is stuff i would never pick out on my own.  There were lots of nature scenes, home interior magazine pages, and a lot of Catholic imagery.  For some reason, I was drawn to a set of small Virgin Mary portraits.  I decided to use them as a common theme in my set of collages.  I piled up the collage supplies, a pair of scissors, and a glue stick on a tray and relaxed on my bed as I cut and pasted.

So, this became a very different experience for me.  First of all, I had a bag of collage material that was assigned to me.  I choose a very different main subject to create my pieces around.  I pared down to minimal supplies instead of doing layer upon layer of mixed media.  And I even chose to create my art in a different room of the house (normally I work in the kitchen).

mary7

The resulting pieces are amazingly different from the art I usually create.  I can’t say I particularly like them.  But I did enjoy the change of pace.  And I don’t think I’m done with these pieces yet.  I wanted to document them in this stage, but now I want to take them further.  I am going to add mixed media and turn them into collages that are more “me” with gesso, and paint, and layers.  I am excited to see what I can do with them.

So, if you are feeling stuck this week, try setting some limitations on your work for a change of pace.  If you are big into mixed media, try a basic glue and paper collage.  Make a page in your art journal based on your least favorite colors.  Go monochromatic, even.  Create in a different workspace.  One simple change could spark your creativity.

ps, I also particularly enjoyed seeing what someone can create out of my favorite supplies.  Here is an amazing collage created by my swap partner:

6x6" collage4

You can see some of my favorite supplies at play in a whole different way.  The creature is made from scrapbooking and origami paper.  The water is some of my dyed paper towels and I love the way she used the book text!  Please visit her Flickr stream and see the rest!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Dittrich permalink
    August 27, 2010 1:43 pm

    Hey Spooky,
    I loved reading about your collage process. And thanks for the kind words about my stuff 🙂
    I agree that collage is relaxing and I myself have become quite addicted to it. It seems ideas can always be generated just from sorting through some random scraps of paper. Different for me than drawing, which is what I normally feel comfortable with.

    Your blog is great, I love hearing from other artist’s about the workings of their creative processes.
    And thanks for partnering with me on the 6 x6 Flickr group, I really enjoyed this set! I look forward to seeing what kind of stuff you add to the collage set.

    Erin ( Mugwort’s Castle)

  2. August 27, 2010 8:51 pm

    These collages look amazing! I just signed up for the flickr group, although it seems like it hasn’t been updated much lately. I really love these – good for you for mixing it up and moving outside of your comfort zone.

    • August 27, 2010 11:06 pm

      Thanks! I think the flickr group is slowly perking back up. I have someone lined up to trade with next, but after I finish that set, maybe we can trade. What is your flickr username?

Leave a Reply

