Skip to content

Something for September

September 2, 2010

September and October are my two favorite months. I feel like my blog has gotten a little stale lately, and I wanted to do something different this month. At first, I was going to just take a month long blogging break. But something at the bookstore changed my mind.
it's coming

I got Keri’s latest book today!  Amazon.com says it’s not out until the seventh, but they were on the shelf at my local Barnes and Noble, so I had to grab one. You can order one here.

Make a Life And More asked me, months ago, on my Formspring why I started art journaling.  I have to say that Keri Smith’s book Wreck This Journal is directly responsible for my introduction to–and deep love of art journaling.  A few years ago, I came across a review of Wreck This Journal in a magazine, and I knew I had to have it.

Have you ever played with a copy of Wreck this Journal?  It is such a thrill.  We are always told as children that books are meant to be treated with great care.  The first steps are always the hardest.  So, I started by tearing my book to pieces.  Literally.

wrecked journal cover

I tore each and every page out of the book. I cut out the “instructions” on each page and glued them into a composition book. Then, over the course of a year or so, my friends and I trashed this book.

outsidelines

We scribbled, dripped, tore, collected, and experimented on the pages. We had a blast! Septemeber 7th (the day Mess comes out) will mark the three year anniversary of my Wreck this Journal. So, all this month I am going to celebrate by working in my new Mess book. Plus, I will show you experiments I’ve done from her other books (I especially love How to be an Explorer of the World). Maybe we’ll end the month with a give-away of her new boxed set?

Who’s ready to make a Mess?

ps Keri Smith isn’t paying me to promote her books. I just really love her. I haven’t even mentioned her on my blog before because I’ve been saving up to do a really big post about her, but how about a whole month instead? This is going to be fun!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 10:43 pm

    Can’t wait to see what mischief ya come up with Keri’s book. Wishing ya a HUGE MESS. Hugs, poe

    • September 4, 2010 9:17 am

      Hey, it’s The Famous Poe, hehe. Thanks for dropping by. Yes, I think I will get into tons of mischief with this thing. I have already taken a hammer to it!

  2. Dawn permalink
    September 3, 2010 2:17 am

    Yay! I’ve been wondering where you have been! I am uber pumped to see what you do!!

    • September 4, 2010 9:13 am

      Oh I’m glad someone missed me! I am excited about this project too! After Mess Month is over, I’m going to have to start working on my SBP Sketchbook. I haven’t even touched it, yikes!

  3. September 3, 2010 10:23 am

    I hope you will review the MEss-book, I’m very curious about what it looks like inside and what it is about! I love Keri too, her mind is amazing! It will be a glorious September! Take care!

  4. September 4, 2010 9:10 am

    Oh yes, you will get to see lots from the Mess book. I am going to do a page a day from it! I like it a lot so far. It is a lot like Wreck This Journal.

Leave a Reply

