Skip to content

Morning Collages

September 9, 2010

morncol-4
I am sort of obsessed with Keri Smith’s ‘morning collages’. The idea is that you start your day with a quick collage, just to get your creativity going.

morncol-12
It’s impossible for me to pick a favorite. Go here and view the entire set. I think she did it every day for a month. And I love the journal she used. It is from Ex Libris Anonymous. They make beautiful journals from old book. I really want one (but I could probably make my own)!

Anyway, I decided to get up an hour earlier this morning, make breakfast, and do a collage. I set my timer for 20 minutes (I later discovered that I needed more time–it seems that 30 minutes is just about perfect) and made a quick collage in my journal.

morning collage 1

I used some junk mail, random collage bits, and only one color of paint!  Fun and quick!

How are you liking Mess Month so far?  I am enjoying dedicating an entire month to my favorite artist, and I hope you readers are not bored to tears!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Paige permalink
    September 10, 2010 6:32 am

    Oh no… Im definitely not bored to tears at all. Love those collages. I feel so inspired!

    • September 11, 2010 4:53 pm

      Yay, I wish I had time to do morning collages every day.

  2. September 10, 2010 6:27 pm

    What an amazing idea! Definitely something I want to try at some point, maybe as a month or even just a week-long thing.

    • September 11, 2010 4:51 pm

      I would love to make this a daily practice, but I’ve got way too much going on right now. Maybe it will be a new years resolution. By the way, I got the package of collage stuff I ordered from your shop. Very nice. I may have squeeled a bit when I saw the hello kitty charm!

Leave a Reply

