Skip to content

A Few Secrets

October 4, 2010

Sorry I’ve been such a slacker with Mess Month.  It is impossible for me to stay on task with anything, I think.  I got pretty caught up in 21 Secrets this week.  First of all, I have a secret of my own.  I did not touch my art journal even once last month! Terrifying, isn’t it?  I was busy playing with my Keri Smith books, making 6×6 collages, and preparing for 21 Secrets.  I have decided that October is going to be all about getting back on track with my art journal!  I wanted to share a few things that I have made from a couple of the 21 Secrets classes.

The first couple things are from Tracie Hanson’s Doodlicious Daybook class.  I made a giant doodle which will be cut up and made into an awesome art journal.  Here is the black and white doodle:

ddbook1

And the painted version:

ddbook2

I have not finished the book yet, but I’ll be sure to show it to you guys when I’m done.

And I’ve also been playing around with the techniques from Spin That Wheel by Mariza. I made a girl whose face changes by turning a wheel!

yellowface

blueface

greenface

orangeface

pinkface

This is still a work in progress. It needs more color work, plus I want to try making a changing face for her boyfriend! I used colored pencils on this page, which is something I have never used in my journal–I always hated colored pencils when I was a kid. I’ve never been able to master the art of shading.

Back soon with more artsy stuff!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 1:28 pm

    Love the faces you’ve done! Very cool spread! I look forward to seeing your journals again… ; )
    Lotus

Leave a Reply

