Skip to content

Bite-Sized Art

October 17, 2010
tags:

Tonight I decided to follow one of my Just Words prompts, and make my first set of ATCs.  Artist Trading Cards, or ATCs for short, are just what they sound like:  palm-sized works of art made for trading with other artists.  ATCs are 3.5 by 2.5–the same size as baseball cards or playing cards. Read more about them here.

the rarest thing

Despite the fact that I have tons of ATC blanks lying around (I even sell them in my shop) this is my first time making ATCs.  I often save my journal-making scraps and cut them down into ATC sized cards.  In fact, the background of these cards was left over from the cover of this art journal.  The tiny photo strips are from a Tim Holtz paper pack I got at Hobby Lobby the other day.  And I sifted through my personal library and found a book of Oscar Wilde quotes.  I decided to use the quote ‘To live is the rarest thing in the world.  Most people exist, that is all’ (and while I was typing that I just now spellcheck informed me that I spelled exist wrong on the cards–oh no!).  I typed it up on my typewriter and used some distress ink to dye the paper blue.  Then I composed the cards and glued everything in place.  After I made the first card I realized that I had enough scraps left over to make a couple more just like it.  Now I have one for me, and two to trade out (after I fix that spelling error, of course).

On a side note, I am super excited that my Hobby Lobby sells Tim Holtz stuff now!  The paper pack I got is called “Lost and Found” and it has all different sized papers (12×12, 6×6, ATC sized, borders, and snippets).  I love it!  I really want to go back and buy all the inks and distress products, but that will have to wait until after my vacation.  I love his grungy style and I can’t wait to learn how to use all that cool stuff!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 5:32 pm

    Well then…now that your toes are damp you could try trading the little darlings. I was led to http://www.atcsforall.com/index.php to do some trading, by a friend.

    a/k/a ArtistPoetGirl

Leave a Reply

