Skip to content

NANoJoMo/AEDM so far…

November 5, 2010

So far, I have succeeded in my goal to do something creative every day this month.  I have even been keeping a quick journal of what I have done in a composition book.

cj

It’s nothing fancy, but it gives me something to look back on the next time I’m in a creative slump.  A whole month’s worth of ideas to get me going again!

Here are a couple of pages I made yesterday:
1year
One to mark my 1 year journaling anniversary.
gypsy
And one to tell about my Halloween costume. I thought it would be fun to give “directions” instead of just making a list of the items I used to create my costume.

I also have a watercolor Moleskine that I keep with me most of the time.  Tuesday morning I made a travel watercolor kit that slides right into my journal.  Seriously, it is as thin as a sheet of paper.  I can’t give away how I made it, but if you want to learn how, it’s not too late to join 21Secrets.  Anyway, at the end of the night when I’m feeling pretty tired I usually still have enough energy to play in my watercolor journal.  I have decided to keep this journal very minimalist.  I have a kit with a waterbrush, 4 Souffle pens, and a Micron pen, along with my watercolor sheet–and that is all that I’m using in this journal.  It is also great for entertaining myself on my lunch breaks at work.

Also, I decided that I might need a new source of creative inspiration to help me along this month.  At the bookstore I found Inner Excavation.  I think this book will be great for me because I’ve been searching for a way to use writing to make my art more meaningful.  There are tons of ideas and writing prompts in this book, but unfortunately there are no step-by-step directions on how to make the artwork featured in the book.  No biggie, though, I didn’t buy it for the artwork.  I just want something to help with the journaling.  There are also photo prompts in the book, too.  I was pretty inspired yesterday.  I went outside and took photos–and I wrote a poem.  So far, I hightly recommend this book to anyone who needs a bit of a spark.

I am almost completely done with my wallpaper journal.  It always takes me around 3 months to finish a journal.  Anyway, when I opened it up last night, I realized there were a couple of pages from September and October that I had never scanned in, so here they are:

free
I wanted to journal on this page, but I couldn’t find a pen that would work on top of the paint and wallpaper.

home
The photo on this one folds out and I wrote about my dream home. I am always doing that. I hope I get a huge old house someday that I can fill with art supplies and quirky old things.

How is November treating you so far?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie K permalink
    November 5, 2010 11:45 am

    I am loving 21 Secrets … I have obtained at least one (if not a ton) of ideas from each teacher. Amazing class! I just wish the videos were up forever! I have a feeling I will need refreshers occasionally.

    • November 7, 2010 11:24 am

      Yay, 21 Secrets! I don’t know about the rest of the teachers, but my video will always be available on my Vimeo page even after the class is over. I personally, would love a book with all the PDF’s from the class! I’ve just been printing them out on my own, though.

  2. Car permalink
    November 5, 2010 4:42 pm

    Congratulations on 1 year of journalling! I love your pages!

    How on earth are you keeping up with both challenges??? I am failing nanowrimo miserably!!!!!

    • November 7, 2010 11:21 am

      Actually, I guess I’m not really keeping up with either of the challenges. I’m just kind of playing along with the intention of art journaling everyday–even if it’s just a tiny mark in my journal. Good luck with nanowrimo. I would love to do that, but I’m too much of a perfectionist when it comes to writing!

  3. November 7, 2010 6:06 am

    such lovely, lovely colors in that last layout!

    • November 7, 2010 11:19 am

      Thanks! I usually use craft acrylics on my pages because they’re so much cheaper, but on that particular page I used a set of artist acrylics. Glad I’m not the only one who noticed the difference. I might have to start splurging more on my paints!

Leave a Reply

