Skip to content

Hello December

December 1, 2010

Yay!  I offically made it through November and created something everyday!  It was fun, and I actually have no intention to stop.  I find it easy to carry a sketchbook and some supplies with me everywhere for journaling on the go.  But, since I’m off work today I’m working on something not so portable–a painting.  My first Goddess painting.  I am not finished yet, but I’ve been photographing every step along the way.

Here is the sketch I started with:
gpf
I drew her mostly in the breakroom at work. Despite her obvious flaws, I knew this was the drawing I wanted to make into a painting. I scanned the image the other night and last night I was playing with my new Corel Paint software (it came with my new graphics tablet, yay) and I found a really cool filter that made the image all soft and dreamy.

I printed that out and stuck it on a wooden plaque:
godessp1

Next I added some hair color. Suzi’s girl had blue hair, but I only had purple on hand, so she is a purple girl. But, as you can see, she matches my living room very well:
goddess-2

After that I added some more shading to her face and some flesh-toned paint. Then I put lots of funky texture around her face. Now I’m just waiting for her to dry:
gp3

Once she’s dry, I have tons more layering work to add. Did I mention that I love this class? I really do. I can’t believe how much my face drawing has improved! I’m sorry I haven’t blogged about actual art journaling lately. My work has taken a turn and now I’m interested in learning new things and branching out from my previous style. I hope that you’ll all stick with me for the ride.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 9:44 pm

    I really love how she’s coming along!

    • December 6, 2010 7:15 pm

      Thanks! She is all done now and I’ll post pics soon.

  2. December 5, 2010 8:41 am

    she looks great and I love purple

    Art is a journey, like a ship at sea it rolls to and from old ports to new ones; so it only stands to reason that your blog (an online journal) should follow that motion as well.

    • December 6, 2010 7:15 pm

      Very nicely put! I just hope my ‘crew’ aka readers are along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

