Skip to content

Holiday Yumz

December 9, 2010

So, I’m not exactly what you’d call “filled with holiday cheer”.  Some people love this time of year, but I’m not a fan.  So, you won’t see too much Holiday Insanity around my blog, but I figured I should do a little something to help celebrate the season.  I thought I’d share a cheap and super easy recipe that came from my lovely great grandma.

rc4

Some people call this stuff Reindeer Chow.  Sandra Bullock calls it White Trash.  In my family we call it “that stuff that Grandma Boone makes”.  Anyway, whatever you want to call it, lets get started.  You need:

rc1

A bag of pretzels, a couple of boxes of crispy cereal (I used Crispix and generic corn Chex), a big can o’ nuts (this is the most expensive part, you can leave it out if you want) and a package of Almond Bark. You also need two big bowls and at least one of the bowls needs to be microwaveable.

rc2
Put the almond bark in the microwavable bowl and set it aside for a sec. Measure out 8 cups of cereal…did I mention this recipe makes a ton? Toss them in the other big bowl. Add a couple of handfuls of pretzels and about half of the big can of mixed nuts. Mix these ingredients together and set them aside. Now go back to your Almond Bark (I have no idea why it’s called almond bark, do you?). We gotta melt this stuff.  Sure, you can use a double-boiler to melt it, but I don’t have one, so I always use the microwave. But you have to be very careful not to burn it. Just nuke the it for 30 seconds at a time and check it by poking it with a wooden spoon or rubber spatula. After three 30 second tries, mine was melted enough to stir.

rc3

There were still some big chunks in the middle, though, so I put it back in the microwave for another 15 seconds, and then it was perfect! Pour the melted Almond Bark over the dry ingredients, then toss it to mix everything up (you get less cereal breakage if you get in there and use your hands to mix it). Spread it out over a cookie sheet covered in wax paper and let it cool.

rc4

Once it has cooled and hardened, you can break it into smaller chunks.  Package it up and give it to all your buddies.  I made two batches, one with vanilla Almond Bark and one with chocolate.  And I got some pretty red Chinese take-out boxes to pack it up in.  My co-workers are in for a treat tomorrow!

Now I’m off to put on A Christmas Story and decorate my Christmas tree.  Once my tree is up, I have a cute ornament tutorial to share.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 10:47 am

    (Sidling in, totally snarkily) Oh, like I really needed to read THIS before breakfast, while I’m making out my grocery list. Sigh. Guess I’ll just have to make some.

    Of course.

    Who needs tuna-noodle casserole. . .

    • December 11, 2010 10:13 am

      Ooh yes, I highly recommend it as a substitute for tuna noodle casserole. Go vegetarian!!! Heh.

Leave a Reply

