Skip to content

Winter Migration

December 20, 2010

There is no light in my house. I’ve decided to move…my studio. I used to use the huge counter top between my living room and kitchen as my creative space, but lately it’s been too dark and gloomy in there.

the mess and the magic

I think my neat-freak husband will be very happy to see this moved out of plain sight.  Here is my new workspace:
moving

Right next to the window to take advantage of all the light I can get.  There is more light here than shows up in the photo (I forgot to adjust my aperture on my camera).  Anywho, half of my computer desk is now my art studio.  We have a pretty small house, so this was really my only choice.  There are pros and cons.  The pro is that I can go in here, shut the door and create magic.  My whole itunes library is here for my listening pleasure.  I cleaned out my desk drawers so I can fill them with art supplies–how fun to have everything within arm’s reach.  The cons are that the space is a lot smaller.  And my computer is here to distract me–like it is right now.  Maybe I can turn that into a good thing.  I have been putting some serious thought into having my own UStream show, and now I have an adequate space to do so (I just need a webcam, maybe after Christmas).

What is your creative space like?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 8:57 pm

    Your art space looks really cozy and nice! I love how it’s right in front of the window. I recently moved to a new apartment and we actually have an extra room I’ve been using for a studio – which is incredible…but I’m already thinking of moving my desk closer to the window so it’s more like this 🙂

    • January 2, 2011 12:36 pm

      Go for it! I love having my stuff next to the window. You can even use the window sill for art supply overflow!

Leave a Reply

