Skip to content

2011 Goals

December 31, 2010

So, I don’t usually do resolutions.  They are kinda silly, right?  Instead I wanted to make a list of goals I want to accomplish in 2010.  Here they are:

  • Send a few of my journals to Art Journaling magazine and *hopefully* get published.
  • Create and teach at least 2 of my own art journaling workshops.
  • Ask for at least 1 extra day off a month to take a 3 day weekend and use that time to work on my art for profit stuff (like the workshops and Etsy items).
  • Create an artists’ social circle (in person or online).
  • Also, make a few online friends.
  • Experiment with audio or visual media more–more journal flips, tutorial videos, and maybe even start a podcast.

What I really want is to transition into being a part time cell phone girl/part time artist…and maybe someday a full time artist.  Last year the only goal I set was that I would drop down to part time at work once I hit my 5 year mark–December 3–but when the time came I was too scared to do it!  I was afraid I wouldn’t make enough money to pay my bills.  So, I’m going to work really hard in 2011 to prove to myself that my dreams of making a living as an artist can come true.  Which brings me to my 2011 word:

BRAVE

I’ve never done the whole “choose a word for your year” thing, but lets try it.  I like the word “brave”.  It makes me think of Native American warriors.  I have a lot of Native American in me, yet I am not very brave at all.  It’s something I want to be, though.  I think I have mention before that one of the reasons I art journal is to work through my shyness.  That will definitely be a focus this year!

About the workshops–I have two planned for this year and I’m really excited about them.  I was going to keep them a secret, but I think announcing them will help keep me motivated to get them done.  So, the first one is Mixed Media Divination.  I hope you all won’t think I’m some crazy witch, but I think fortune telling is fun.  The main focus is this class will be making our own deck of tarot cards, but we will also make a couple of other fortune telling devices!  And the second one is called Play:  Art Journaling for your Inner Child.  In this one I want us to just have fun and be childlike in our journaling exercises!  I am still working on both of these classes, but I can’t wait to bring them to you in the new year.

Have a good evening and happy 2011!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan permalink
    January 2, 2011 7:41 am

    I’ve just started art journalling and found you on youtube. Thanks for your grunge text video..I’m going back to see the rest of them. I just wanted to thank you for putting up a video that anyone can do. There are a lot of talented people putting up art journal videos and they’re very inspiring, but I can’t hope to do some of that (yet) because of lack of equipment or or or… I still love them and try. Anyhow, if you do art journalling classes online please let me know! Happy New Year, and I’m guessing you’re braver than you realize. 🙂

    • January 2, 2011 12:33 pm

      I’m thrilled you like my video! I love to see that I’ve helped a beginner because I’m not far off from one. I only started art journaling a little over a year ago. I hope you are having tons of fun with your first journal–I know I did!

Leave a Reply

