Skip to content

One.Eleven.Eleven

January 11, 2011

I’m kind of into my watercolor journal this week.

List It Tuesday

First, a little something for List-It Tuesday.  I consider myself someone who watches a LOT of movies, but there are tons of classics I’ve never seen.  You know what’s funny?  I thought I was probably the only person on the planet that has never seen any of the Star Wars movies, but my husband hasn’t either.  I guess we are meant for each other.

The other day, I decided to look up Sabrina Ward Harrison, since I’m always hearing great things about her.  After browsing her site for a bit, I made a couple of pages inspired by her work.

watercolor1

watercolor2

I really, really want this journal by SWH. Pretty please?

Then I was browsing around the Flickr group for Drawing Lab and saw some neat blind contours of an octopus, and I decided I wanted to make my own.

octo

I guess having my workspace next to my computer is inspiring me (and not distracting me too much) after all! I still like to take this journal with me to work. Here is an unfinished one I did in the breakroom.  (ps the “#1 in the country” is reference to the fact that this week our cell phone store learned that it was #1 in sales over all the others in the chain!  Seriously!  And I sold the most phones last month–124!  We rock!)

Jan 7th doodles

Speaking of work, remember when I resolved to take an extra day off work each month to work on art?  Today was my first “work from home” day.  I treated it just like a regular work day.  I got up, took a shower (but then I put my comfy clothes on instead of khakis) and went to work–in my studio.  I spent all morning cutting papers for journals, then I took a lunch break, after after lunch I made the covers for the journals.  Now I have 5 new journals to sell!  I also did a lot of brainstorming and work for my workshop.  I have decided to wait until the fall, around Halloween most likely, to do the tarot card workshop.  So, I have been working on the inner child one, which now has the official title of 30 Days of PLaY.  This workshop is going to be a prompt-based workshop (versus technique based, though I will show you a few techniques) and will most likely happen during the month of April.  Are you excited yet?  I am even going to have different packages for my students to choose from, one of which includes one of the journals I made today!  I will tell you more about Play as soon as I finish writing everything up.  I can’t wait!

Tomorrow the new video will be up.  I promise!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

