Skip to content

Ten Different Kinds of Art Journals

January 16, 2011

A little video I made today:

Yep, awkward is my middle name.  But some things are best discussed in video format.  Here are the notes I was reading from:

1.  The mixed media visual journal–this is what I think of when I hear the term “art journal”.  In this type of journal we usually see lots of layers…paint, paper, magazine cut outs.
2.  Sketchbooks–sketchbooks are mainly used for drawing practice.  This is the book I use to practice drawing faces.
3.  Gluebooks–gluebooks are journals that are used strictly for collage.  This is a gluebook I’ve had since about 2000.
4.  Themed art journals–some artists devote an entire journal to one theme.  Sometimes I make mini weekly themed journals.
5.  Travel journals–another type of themed journal is the travel journal.  These are usually small, portable journals that artist use to document their travels.
6.  Scrappy–many scrapbooks crossover into the art journal category.  These are usually highly personal scrapbooks that can be a bit messy and contain little to no paint.
7.  Media-specific–In this type of art journal, the artist focuses on using only one type of medium.  For example, I have a journal specifically for watercolor.
8–Personal notebook/field guide.  This is a notebook I kept in 2008 that turned into a sort of art journal.
9.  The altered book–When you take a use hardback book and turn it into a piece of art, you have an altered book.
10.  Lastly, the Junque Journal–A junque journal is a notebook–usually a compostion journal that contains all of the little paper scraps and ephemera you collect in you daily life.

Can you think of any other types?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 3:41 am

    beautiful journals, beautiful you! ❤

    • January 17, 2011 11:44 am

      Thanks! It’s so hard to get out there on camera for fear of evil trolls harassing me, so your compliments are much appreciated!

  2. January 19, 2011 8:42 pm

    that’s a good breakdown! I’m trying to think of additional types but I think you’ve got them. some people do collaborative journals, does that count? PS I didn’t think you were awkward. 🙂

    • January 19, 2011 9:31 pm

      Yeah, I didn’t think of collaborative journals (maybe because I haven’t done one yet). Haha, I feel incredibly awkward but maybe that’s all just my inner critic!

Trackbacks

  1. Meus Favoritos #81 | Scrap Party

Leave a Reply

