Skip to content

Just Words #3

January 18, 2011

When I first started journaling, I was so inspired.  Everything was new and fun, and I just couldn’t stop making art.  Lately, I’ve been running kind of low on inspiration.  So, what did I do?  Last night, I got out my first two journals and took notes.  What kind of techniques was I into when I started?  What materials did I use?  What kept me coming back to that journal again and again?  Here are a few Just Words prompts that I gathered from my debut journals:

  • Use two different colors of gesso in one page.  Start with a layer of grey, let that dry, then add a layer of white, scrap tons of texture in it before it dries.  Once the white gesso is dry, add a bit of color with watercolors.
  • create a border around your page with magazine cutouts
  • do some gridwork
  • add paintchips from the hardware store
  • use different kinds of cheap paper as a background element–notebook paper, grid paper, etc.
  • add a layer or two of tissue paper
  • write or doodle with Sharpies, then add detail with a fine tipped pen

I suggest you dig out your first journal, too.  You just might inspire yourself!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 1:29 am

    Fantastic post! I’m so glad you’re participating in Art Journal Every Day!

    • January 19, 2011 9:34 pm

      Thank you! I love your blog. And thanks for tweeting this post–you tripled my usual hits!

  2. January 19, 2011 9:53 am

    Wonderful ideas! I’ve been saving some Victoria’s Secret tissue paper, and the silver foil of a candy bar wrapper to use. Perhaps today’s the day!!

    • January 19, 2011 9:32 pm

      Tissue paper is awesome. Good luck with your journal!

Leave a Reply

