Skip to content

2.15.11…blah

February 15, 2011
IMG_1439

some snowy pics so this isn't a photo-less post

I am feeling particularly unmotivated lately.  I don’t want to play in my art journal.  I don’t feel like reading blogs.  And I certainly don’t feel like trying to do anything with my own blog.  I just feel very blah.  I feel so blah, I can’t even come up with a name for this post.  I am very burnt out from work and I have been focusing way too much on all the negative things in my job and life.  I get like this when I don’t create.  Or maybe I can’t create when I’m like this…who knows?  I just know I’ve got to dig myself out of this hole.

IMG_1438

So, I’ve decided to commit myself to a creative project.  Today I bought The Artist’s Way (for my Kindle, but you can get it in paper form as well).  It’s a 12 week program centered on helping artists get over their creative block.  I’m going to follow along with the book and blog about it at least once a week.  I’ve heard that this is an amazing, life changing book.  Right now the “blah” in me seriously doubts it, but I am willing to try.

I also picked up a hardback copy of this book when I was in St. Louis last week.  I love this book so much!  I think I will do a full review of it soon.  Anyway, last week, before the blah hit, I did a few of the exercises from it, and they were such fun.  I’m going to start doing that daily as well.  I think the combination of both of these books will hopefully get me out of my blah mood and back into my journal!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 6:41 pm

    ooooh, blogging along with the artist’s way is a great idea! i should try that too!

    • February 22, 2011 7:33 pm

      Yeah! Blogging along is good for me, because I’m less likely to give up on it! Thanks for commenting and I’m sorry it took me so long to reply!

  2. February 15, 2011 8:11 pm

    Looks to me like the creative process has begun. I saw where you ” Looked Around Corners” with your photographic approach. Good new ways of seeing.
    Give yourself a break. When I get like you I go home from work and sleep and then immediately plan for a one week vacation.

    I’m over 50 now. And that means I need at least 4 vacations each year.

    Bill

    • February 22, 2011 7:32 pm

      Hi Bill! Thanks for stopping by! A vacation does sound nice right about now…

  3. February 15, 2011 10:28 pm

    oh man, good luck. I totally feel you on the blahs. I have a major case of them right now. I picked up the Artist’s Way a couple of years ago (well, got it from the library)…and didn’t make it past two weeks of doing the morning pages. Soooooo…maybe you’ll do better than me! I will be interested in how you are doing though.

    • February 22, 2011 7:31 pm

      hey Dawn! I’m telling you, man, it’s The Great Grey Beast February that’s eating us alive! Everyone has the blahs! oh, I hope I can make it past two weeks with this book. I am really bad about following through with stuff! I think blogging along will force me to keep up with it (or I’ll look like a fool before my legion of readers, lol!) I liked your blog post the other day when you said basically ‘hey everyone I read your comments, but I’m too lazy to reply’. That is totally me! I always try to reply, but I usually do it a week late. And I am bad about commenting on other people’s blogs, too! I read every one of your posts, but I never get around to commenting!

  4. February 16, 2011 3:23 pm

    I know exactly how you feel! I’m in the same frame of mind & I haven’t gotten motivated yet. Good for you on taking proactive steps to get out of it. I did the AW about 9 years ago & loved it. I hope you enjoy it as well.

    • February 22, 2011 7:25 pm

      Yes, I think February is just a brain-killer. That’s why we’re all so unmotivated! I’m glad to hear you liked the book! I think it’s going to be a lot of fun!

  5. February 17, 2011 9:05 pm

    oooooh, darlin’, i feel you! i’ve been so insanely busy that i haven’t had a single moment to create or to plan a post.. it’s a terrible feeling to know that i *should* do something but not having the energy or motivation to do so. even my weekends are busy. oh, what to do?

    i hope you find your motivation soon – i read The Artist’s Way last year and it really was fantastic. going back and do the exercises is on my Things I Want to Do list (right alongside blogging and creating and sleeping). sending lots of good thoughts your way!

    ingrid

    • February 22, 2011 7:23 pm

      Haha, soo busy! I know what that’s like. Just look at how long it took me to get around to replying to this! I just wanted to let you know that I always read your blog, but I never get around to commenting. I do really love it and I’m so happy you get to do 21 Secrets this year!

Leave a Reply

