Skip to content

AW Week 1

February 19, 2011

Okay, I am half-way through my first week in The Artist’s Way (I decided to start my “weeks” on Wednesday because I don’t work a normal Monday-Friday week anyway).  Here are my thoughts so far:

IMG_1459

and, as a bonus, more of my fascinating iPhone pictures!

The first chapter is called “Recovering a Sense of Safety”.  This week is all about getting past your creative fears.  Julia shows us  a few examples of how past experiences can crush our creative dreams.  She then shows us how we can identify our creative enemies and how to start banishing that inner critic.  She also explains a couple of rituals you must perform–one weekly and one daily.

IMG_1463

do you remember that scary furnace in Home Alone?

The daily ritual is called “Morning Pages”.  The idea behind this is that each morning we set our alarms a little early, roll out of bed, and write.  Write, write, write!  Three pages.  By doing this, we can dump all that mess cluttering up our minds, and allow our creative ideas a little more space to move around.

IMG_1455

brain dump

Do I like morning pages?  No!  I hate getting out of bed early.  But, I’ve done it.  Well, sort of.  We’re supposed to write three pages everyday.  The first day, I didn’t do my morning pages straight out of bed.  I got ready for work, then sat down to do them.  Unfortunately, I didn’t give myself enough time to do them, so I only wrote a page and a half.  The next two days, I did them straight out of bed, but I only wrote two pages.  And, today, I finally got around to writing three pages.  So far, I can’t really tell that this activity is doing anything for me, but I am committed to seeing this through.  So, I’m going to continue to do my morning pages for the duration of the 12 weeks (sigh).

The weekly task is called “Artist’s Dates”.  Once a week, we’re supposed to do something by ourselves that really nurtures our creative sides.  It could be a walk in the park, a visit to a new art gallery, or even a long soak in the tub.  I will tell you about my first artist’s date tomorrow.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 3:29 pm

    I ♥ morning pages and artists dates! Kristin is doing her sequel book, walk in this world, I might join in!

Leave a Reply

