Skip to content

Artist’s Date #1

February 20, 2011

Yesterday, I went on my first artist’s date.  I wanted to start by doing something cheap, since I don’t always have a lot of money.  I started thinking about things I used to do as a kid for fun (and for free).  When I was a teenager, I had a bulletin board in my room.  It was covered in magazine clippings of my favorite bands, fun quotes, clothing tags, and photos of me and my friends.  At least once a week, I would pull out all the thumbtacks, take the pictures down, and rearrange it–adding and subtracting things as I liked.  It was something pointless that I really enjoyed.  I decided for my artist’s date this week, I’d do something similar.  I picked out a movie on Netflix–Frida, if you’re wondering–and sat down with a stack of magazines, scissors, gluestick, and my art journal.

How to make an inspirational collage in your art journal:

IMG_1469

Step 1–Grab a stack of magazines.  I didn’t have any music magazines, but I have a huge stack of old fashion magazines.  Flip through the mag, and tear out anything that catches your eye.

IMG_1470

Step 2–Grab your scissors and cut out the bits and pieces you like.  Step 3–Glue them into your journal like so:

startliving
ycp

Ah, there’s nothing like a good collage.  I finished my collage just as the movie ended.  Do you like the message?  I would very much like to live my creative passion.  It’s funny, I didn’t even pay attention to those words when I ripped out the page–I just liked the photo.  Later, when I was cutting out the girl, I realized what they said, and I knew I had to make that the focal point of the piece.  So, I made my collage, then added the words on last.  It’s funny how things like that work out.  Like the photo of the girl in the body brace–how odd that I came across it while watching a movie about an artist who spent a lot of her time in a full body cast!

I enjoyed my first artist’s date.  I wonder what I’ll do next week…Any ideas?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 7:15 pm

    Hooray for Artist Dates! What a great post and such a strong message on your collage. I have gone through “The Artist’s Way” twice now and it has brought me to a beautiful new creative place each time. I’m excited for you as you begin your own journey.

    • February 22, 2011 7:21 pm

      Hi! I’m happy to hear from someone who enjoyed the book! I am hoping that it works wonders for me like everyone says it will! And I’m glad to hear that it’s something you can enjoy more than once!

  2. Paige permalink
    February 21, 2011 6:55 am

    Good Morning! A few blog posts ago, you had the ‘blahs’…I know how that feels (been there, done that, bought the Tshirt). I wanted to let you know that I was one of the ones that bought one of your art journals thru Etsy. Although I worry that I’m screwing it up … I’ve enjoyed it very much (when I’ve let myself ‘go’). I hope you have a great day today. great job on the collage!

    • February 22, 2011 7:20 pm

      Hi Paige! I’m glad you are using your journal that I made. Don’t worry about screwing it up–art journals are allowed to have messy ugly pages, too! And you can always gesso over the stuff you don’t like!

Leave a Reply

