Skip to content

Imaginary Lives–Week 1

February 22, 2011

imaginary lives

One of the weekly challenges in The Artist’s Way is choosing 5 Imaginary Lives each week.  If you could live another life, whose would you choose?  I really liked this task.  At first, I started rattling off things I would like to do.  I turned into Rob from High Fidelity and started picking out Top 5 Dream Jobs.  But, then I really thought about the question.  It’s imaginary lives, not jobs.  I could be someone else entirely.  I feel like I’m too shy or too clumsy or too lazy for some of the things I would like to do.  But, if I could be someone else entirely, then what?

Imaginary Lives Week 1:

  1. Radio DJ in the 90’s–When I was 13 or so, my mom rented the movie The Fog (not the recent remake, but the older one) for my brother I to watch.  Do you remember the girl in the radio station on top of  the lighthouse?  I so wanted to be her!  I feel like I’m too shy and quiet for the radio, but it seems like such fun.  And I choose the 90’s because that’s my favorite musical decade.
  2. Extravagant Ruler–You know, like Cleopatra or Marie Antoinette.  Just have people wait on me hand and foot.  I’m pretty lazy.  But I don’t like politics and I lack royal blood, so it’s sort of out of the question for this life, huh?
  3. Fashion Designer–I’d love to design clothes.  I need to get better at sketching bodies so I can draw some of my ideas.
  4. Pioneer–I know pioneers had it rough, but I grew up reading Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books, so I’m slightly in love with the idea of living in the middle of nowhere and being completely self-reliant.
  5. Impressionist Painter–Live in Europe in the late 1800’s and paint all day.  Drink lots of absinthe…maybe lose an ear or two?  (Just kidding about the ear, I think I’ll keep mine!)

The second part of this exercise is to sneak a little bit of those lives into your life this week.  For example, I could do some fashion sketches (fashion designer), make a mixtape (dj), or take a Cleopatra-esque milk bath (ruler)!  I did make a mix cd for my new friend Keenan this week.

Today’s my last day of week 1.  Check back tomorrow for a week in review!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

