Skip to content

week 4, WTF?

March 12, 2011

So, did you know that Week 4 of Artist’s Way is a reading deprivation?  I sure didn’t!  You’re supposed to go all this week without reading anything.  Anything!  I went pretty gung-ho about it for a while.  Hid my books.  Put my Kindle books in a folder called “Don’t Read this Week”.  I even shut off the cellular data on my iPhone!  Oh, the humanity!  Well, after 3 and a half days of no reading, no internet, I’ve officially given up.  Half a week is better than nothing, right?  I did actually enjoy the experience more than I thought I would.  And I had lots of ideas I might not have if I’d been distracted by the internet or books.  So, I’ve decided that I might like to do this once a week.  And that makes me feel better about quitting this week half-way through.

So, this was sort of an impromptu post.  Once I actually got back on the internet and read the 85 blog posts I hadn’t seen yet on Goggle Reader, I found that I had nothing else to do…so I came here.  Thought I’d tell you where I’d been for the past couple of days.  Sorry no pictures.  Back soon with something art-related!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2011 1:19 pm

    I did it but only 5 days because it’s was too hard for me.
    You need to read everyday at grocery, office… and when you have kids each night for their story… My boyfriend help a lot during the 5 days 😉
    Hope you’ll be able to do it 😀

  2. March 29, 2011 5:33 pm

    Yeah, I didn’t make it either. There’s NO way I could give up reading altogether, though I did take the opportunity to ‘give up’ reading the paper & other stuff that wasn’t inspiring, uplifting or fun – and that did make a difference. Now I just read stuff that’s going to contribute to my JOY-level. 😉

Leave a Reply

